Printer Friendly

Sherlock Holmes: a Baker Street Dozen.

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. 1953/2001. Performed by John Gielgud, Ralph Richardson, Orson Welles. 6 tapes. 6 hrs. HighBridge Audio. 1-56511-557-0. $26.95. Cardboard and plastic; content notes. SA

This is a fully dramatized series of 12 Conan Doyle stories featuring his famous detective. The collection includes: "The Blue Carbuncle," "The Golden Pince-Nez," "The Norwood Builder," " The Solitary Cyclist," "The Final Problem," "A Case of Identity," "The Six Napoleons," "The Dying Detective," "The Second Stain," "The Speckled Band," "The Blackmailer," and "A Scandal in Bohemia." Holmes is played by Gielgud, and Richardson renders his able assistant Dr. James Watson. Welles appears as Professor Moriarty.

The production is professional, with original music, sound effects, and an excellent supporting cast. The series will appeal to fans of the great detective. Each story is 20 to 30 minutes long, one per tape side, so it is possible to nibble at the stories like English toffees. Janet Julian, former English Teacher, Grafton H.S., Grafton, MA
COPYRIGHT 2002 Kliatt
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2002, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Author:Julian, Janet
Article Type:Audiobook Review
Date:May 1, 2002
Previous Article:Separation of Power.
Next Article:The Sigma Protocol.

Related Articles
Down 42nd Street.
The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes: a baker's dozen of the original radio broadcasts.
A Treasury of Sherlock Holmes: A Collection of Seven Stories & The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes V.
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, VI.
Ms. Holmes of Baker Street.
Fall of the Amazing Zalindas.
The Singular Adventures Of Mr. Sherlock Holmes.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters