Printer Friendly

Shepherd Hill hosts First Honors dinner.

Byline: Mikala Kane

DUDLEY- Shepherd Hill Regional High School honored 120 students at its 18th annual First Honors Recognition Dinner on Sept. 27.

Students were recognized for receiving first honors in all four quarters of the 2006-07 school year. These students and their parents were treated to a dinner served by Shepherd Hill teachers.

After dinner, Steven T. Szlyk, class president of Shepherd Hill's class of 1974, the school's first graduating class, spoke about his experience at Shepherd Hill, 33 years ago. Mr. Szlyk even told the night's attendees about how he remembered graduating while covered in poison ivy under his graduation gown. That was one moment he'll never forget, he said.

Another speaker was Mr. Szlyk's father, Dr. Zenon P. Szlyk. Dr. Szlyk is one of the individuals who promoted merging the Dudley and Charlton school districts. Dr. Szlyk is the last remaining founder of the Webster-Dudley Quo Vadis Club.

The club was one of the night's sponsors, and the sponsor of the annual Dudley-Charlton Teacher of the Year Award.

To end the evening, assistant principals to Shepherd Hill, Mary A. Pierangeli, and Robert E. O'Brien, along with Susan H. Cabral, director of student resources, distributed gifts to the honored students. The 120 students honored received a Shepherd Hill sports pack and a flash drive to store assignments on.

Honorees were:

Seniors: Ellen Bartolini, Timothy DeAngelis, Gavin Delphia, Matthew Dodge, Kelsea Ertsgard, John Glynn, Elizabeth Hall, Katie Hickey, Alyssa Johnson, Diana Kach, Lauren Landry, Justine Lempicki, Kristy McCluskey, Carolyn McGee, Daniel Merill, Lisa Milosh, Daniel Perry, Jessica Seder, Katherine Todd, Jonathan Umana, Nicholas Vranos, Amy Wayman and Autumn Williams.

Juniors: Karen Bickley, Matthew Bigelow, Daniel Borezo, Anna Briare, Kimberly Burlingame, Danielle Carbonneau, Kathleen Cetin, Matthew Chatham, Benjamin Constantine, Christopher Delude, Jessica Downer, Jeffrey Eisenhauer, Nicole Faille, Catherine Fitzgerald, Jonathan Gay, Jeremy Guillette, Samuel Gunnell, Jessica Karlowicz, Aidan Kestigan, Alicia Majeau, Nicole Martinson, Lauren O'Connor, Kimberly Ornell, Rebecca Orsini, Eric Pranaitis, Lyle Shaw, Nicole Smith and Christian White.

Sophomores: Tessa Blackburn, Eric Brigham, John Bronzo, Conrad Bzura, Alyson Carey, Kiersten Choiniere, Adrian Delphia, Chelsea Dodge, Jeffrey Elloian, Jared Gagnon, Andrea Gould, Lauren Hall, Stacey Howarth, Kelli Livingston, Alex Mooradian, Karissa Netsch, Melissa Page, Adam Pranaitis, Katelyn Rozenas, Matthew Schmidt, Erica Sinni, Leah Terrill, Kyle Todd, Izabela Tomkiewicz, Erica Tremblay, Samuel Veilleux, Kaitlin Watson, Emily White and Jessica Woodacre.

Freshmen: Sara Allen, Stephanie Bates, Alex Bellows, Michael Bigelow, Alyssa Chamberlain, Magdalene Chestna, Anthony Coderre, Megan Cooke, Emily Covill, Jacqueline Crowe, Kayla Darling, Alyssa DiFronzo, Samantha Faille, Joseph Gay, Robert Gingras, Benjamin Grotton, Kelsey Hatch, Valerie Hoegen, Jacob Hogan, David Ilacqua, Mikala Kane, Michael LeBlanc, Keenan Mahan, Jennifer Martin, Brittany Mitchell, Edwin Nash, Rebekah Pack, Nicole Painchaud, Timothy Piehl, Joseph Porzio, Kelly Rambarran, Kelsey Rayla, Katie Sherman, Erin Stiles, Joanna Sudyka, April Thibaudeau, Joseph Tilly, Ashley West, Timothy White and Cassandra Zieminski.


CUTLINE: From left: Shepherd Hill Asst. Principal Robert E. O'Brien, Grade 10 student Keenan Mahan, School Committee member Karen A. Spiewak, Grade 11 student Kelli Livingston, Grade 10 student Sara Allen, Superintendent of Schools Sean M. Gilrein, 2007 graduate Diana Kach, School Committee members Raymond J. Chalk and Joseph S. Spiewak.

COPYRIGHT 2007 Worcester Telegram & Gazette
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2007 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Telegram & Gazette (Worcester, MA)
Date:Oct 14, 2007
Previous Article:CLASS ACTS.
Next Article:Crisis Center now `Wendy's Place'; CAC rededicated in honor of Wendy Moher.

Related Articles
Student legacy at the fore; Dinner dance to fund memorial scholarship.
SHRS breakfast honors AP students.
Service learning feted; Community, students benefit.
Locking horns; Two Rams butt in a Top 10 showdown.
Rams bowl over South.
Ely, Leanne. Saving dinner the vegetarian way.
Juszczyk lifts Cougars; McCann's six saves boost defending champs.
No slowing down Rams; Shepherd Hill romps early; Northbridge is next.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters