Printer Friendly

Sheffield's Crimp joins winners list.

Byline: Jonathan Kay

THE GBGB yesterday announced that Joanne Crimp, who works for Sheffield's Lisa Stephenson, is the Kennelhand of the Year for 2011. Crimp will receive the Bagssponsored award at Sunday's sold-out annual awards gala at London's Park Plaza Riverside Hotel.

Crimp (left) was selected by an industry panel with one member, the GBGB's welfare and integrity services manager Duncan Gibson, saying: "We'd like to thank all those who took the time to write and submit a nomination; we received a record number.

"A kennelhand's workload is one of the toughest in the business and there's little doubt that there are many hundreds of others not nominated who also deserve the recognition that this award brings. The panel felt that Joanne's peers had conveyed that she demonstrates a level of exceptional dedication in her daily duties." In addition to the trophy, Crimp receives pounds 500.

Sheffield general manager Dave Perry welcomed the news. "Without a shadow of doubt, this is a well deserved award," he said, "Joanne has been with Lisa a very long time and is pleasant with owners, staff, everyone really, but overriding that is the genuine care she shows for all greyhounds."

The three runners-up are Kelly Bakewell (Gary Bakewell, Hall Green), Paul Anderson (Chris Allsopp, Monmore) and Gemma Byford (Norah McEllistrim, Wimbledon) who each receive pounds 150 and champagne.

Sunday's gala begins with a drinks reception in the Thames Suite overlooking Westminster at 6pm, followed by a threecourse meal, the awards ceremony and live entertainment. The awards presentations are being spread out slightly during the course of the evening with the first being made just after the opening welcome. Tickets are being sent out this week.

Throughout the evening a silhouette artist will be raising funds for the Retired Greyhound Trust in addition to the annual raffle.

Other awards presented on the night: GWA Services to Greyhound Racing (Norah McEllistrim), Services to the RGT, Owner of the Year (sponsored by, Trainer of the Year (Chris Allsopp, sponsored by Coral), Bags Track Championship (Monmore) (sponsored by Bags) and, of course, Greyhound of the Year.

No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Sports
Publication:The Racing Post (London, England)
Date:Jan 17, 2012
Previous Article:Orion the potential star as Wallis names Golden Jacket team.
Next Article:Thinking big at 20-1 with scope to improve.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters