Printer Friendly

Seven Summits challenge has two official lists.

Dubai: The Seven Summits, a mountaineering challenge of climbing the highest mountains, is classified under two lists -- Bass and Messner.

The Seven Summits comprises Cerro Aconcagua (South America), Denali (North America), Vinson Massif (Antarctica), Elbrus (Europe), Kilimanjaro (Africa), Mount Everest (Asia) and either Carstensz Pyramid or Mount Kosciuszko (Australia). The Bass List, which includes Mount Kosciuszko in Australia and the Messner List which includes Carstensz Pyramid in Australia.

Last month, Gulf News reported that British expatriate Leanna Shuttleworth completed the Bass list, qualifying as the first resident and recently, Gulf News reported that Finnish expatriate Atte Miettinen was the first to complete the Messner list.

Al Nisr Publishing LLC 2012. All rights reserved.

Provided by an company
COPYRIGHT 2012 Al Bawaba (Middle East) Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Gulf News (United Arab Emirates)
Geographic Code:8AUST
Date:Jul 10, 2012
Previous Article:Base support ship INS Tanaji commissioned.
Next Article:Remove diesel generators, municipality tells ad companies.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters