Printer Friendly

Senate OKs 11 bills seeking to establish, convert, separate and rename several high schools, colleges nationwide.

By Hannah Torregoza

The Senate approved on third and final reading 11 bills seeking to establish, convert, separate and rename several high schools and colleges nationwide, Monday.

Sen. Francis "Chiz" Escudero, chair of the Senate committee on education, arts and culture, said the establishment of national high schools in the various barangays would make secondary education more accessible to local residents.

Approved were the establishment of national high schools in Barangay Pan-ay Dako, Municipality of Clarin, Misamis Occidental; Barangay Bignay, Valenzuela City; Barangay Tiblac, Municipality of Ambuguio, Nueva Vizcaya and Barangay 184, Zone 19, Maricaban, Pasay Cut.

Escudero said passage of the bills into law would help address the problems faced by students in living in far-flung areas.

"They who have to spend hours walking daily to attend classes and those parents who can barely afford the expenses of sending their children to the nearest high school," Escudero said.

Likewise, Escudero said the establishment of secondary schools in the barangays will provide better access and opportunity for the students in the area "to secure a high school education by reducing the distance, time and transportation expenses for our constituents."

The Upper Chamber also approved the separation and conversion of several national high schools in the municipalities of Sta. Maria and Jose Abad Santos, Davao Occidental and in the municipality of Sultan Naga Dimaporo, Lanao Del Norte.

The senator stressed that the government is mandated to "protect and promote the right of all citizens to quality education at all levels."

The Senate, he said, is to take "appropriate steps to make quality education accessible to all and to establish, maintain, and support a complete, adequate, and integrated system of education relevant to the needs of the people and society."

Colleges to be integrated, and renamed include the Don Honorio Ventura Technological State University (DHVTSU) in Bacolor, Pampanga; Cebu City Mountain Extension Campus in Cebu City; and Maasin City College in Leyte.

Escudero said the measures seeking to rename and integrate state universities in different regions, were done to expand their curricular offerings to include additional courses and programs in liberal arts, medical and allied medical fields which are responsive to the demands of the society and industries.

"The bills once approved, will allow accommodation of more deserving students and will improve the quality of tertiary educations in their service areas," he said.


MB File-Senator Chiz Escudero (MBPhoto|Camille Ante|Manila Bulletin)

COPYRIGHT 2018 Manila Bulletin Publishing Corp.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:National
Publication:Manila Bulletin
Geographic Code:9PHIL
Date:May 28, 2018
Previous Article:CA upholds suspension of PDEA official.
Next Article:Senate approves bill allowing more Filipinos to avail of loans from financial institutions.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters