Printer Friendly

San Francisco Medical Society Announces That They are Still Accepting Nominations for the David Perlman $1000 Award for Excellence In Medical/Health Reporting.

News Editors/Health & Medical Writers

SAN FRANCISCO--(BW HealthWire)--July 10, 2001

The following is an announcement from the San Francisco Medical Society to Editors and News Directors:

It is our pleasure to invite you to submit nominations for the San Francisco Medical Society (SFMS) "David Perlman Award for Excellence in Medical/Health Reporting." This $1,000 award is presented each January at the San Francisco Medical Society Annual Dinner. The deadline for nominations is September 30, 2001 for the 2002 award. The exact award criteria is included at the end of this release.

As you are surely aware, David Perlman is the veteran Science Editor of the San Francisco Chronicle who has won numerous awards for his reporting of science, technology and medicine for more than 35 years. In January of 2000, the SFMS honored Mr. Perlman by naming this award after him and presenting him with the inaugural award for his series in the San Francisco Chronicle that helped save the Haight Ashbury Free Clinic in its early days.

On January 25, 2001 at the SFMS Annual Dinner, Dwana Bain of the Independent Newspaper group in Burlingame and Pam Rorke Levy and Suzanne Guyette of KQED radio/TV were honored as the year's recipients for their work.

Ms. Bain received the award for best print news story for her series on the Sunbridge Nursing Home residents alleged neglect and deaths during the heat wave in June 2000. Film producers Levy and Guyette received the award for best television report for their production "Final Choice: America Struggles With the Right to Die," a 60-minute documentary probing the sensitive issues surrounding the subject of assisted suicide.

A prestigious panel of SFMS journalists, physicians and community leaders will judge the selections received. San Francisco Medical Society will announce the award recipient in December 2001. The award will be formally presented at the SFMS Annual Dinner on January 25, 2002.

Please take this opportunity to review the award criteria attached and nominate your best and brightest reporters for their coverage of health or medical issues during 2000-2001.

Thank you for your assistance. If you need further information, please contact Edare Carroll, SFMS Communications Director, at 415/561-0861, or



The deadline for all submissions is September 30, 2001. The award includes a $1000 cash prize and will be presented at the San Francisco Medical Society Annual Dinner in January 2001.

-- The report or series, or body of work must be on a relevant health or
medical issue.

-- The report must be well-researched, written and produced between October 1,
2000 and September 1, 2001.

-- The report may be either a single newspaper article or series, single radio
report or series, or a single television report or series.

-- A maximum of three entries, each to be a single report or a continued
series, may be submitted by one newspaper, radio or television station.

-- Newspaper entries should be one original and five copies, either photocopies
or printouts from electronic files.

-- Radio entries should be submitted by audiotape with a total of six copies.

-- Television entries should be submitted by videotape with a total of six

-- The entry must have been designed to improve the public understanding of
health, health care and/or medicine and/or contributed to significant
improvement in the quality of care.

-- Entries must come from print or broadcast media headquartered in the
following counties: San Francisco, Marin, San Mateo, Alameda, Contra Costa,
Santa Clara and Sonoma.

Sponsored by the San Francisco Medical Society, 1409 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109.

For further information please contact Edare Carroll at 415/561-0861, or

Edare K. Carroll

Director of Communications

San Francisco Medical Society

1409 Sutter Street

San Francisco, CA 94109

COPYRIGHT 2001 Business Wire
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2001, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Business Wire
Date:Jul 10, 2001
Previous Article:Tadpole Compute Server 3300 Powered By New UltraSPARC III Processor Delivers Unprecedented Compute Density In A 3U Rack.
Next Article:Ofoto Redesigns Web Site; Redesigned Site Emphasizes Ease of Use, With Larger Photo Views and Simplified Shopping.

Related Articles
Davis Calvin Wagner Sanitarian Award.
MASterwork nominations being accepted.
Nomination deadline: december 1, 2000. (IABC EXCEL Award).
Huff selected for APHA's Rall Award. (NIEHS News).
Rubber division takes nominations. (Meetings).

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters