Printer Friendly

SYRIA - The Government.

The formation of Syria's new government under Prime Minister Dr. Mohammed Mustafa Miro was decreed by President Assad on March 13, 2000. Assad had appointed Dr. Miro on March 7 to succeed Mahmoud Al Zohbi who was dismissed. The cabinet, to pursue US-brokered peace negotiations with Israel and boost the country's ailing economy, consists of 36 members of which 26 are from the ruling Baath Party and ten are from the six non-Baath parties of the National Progressive Front. The cabinet retains in key portfolios long-serving political appointees close to Assad (see Gas Market Trends).

The line-up has 22 newcomers, including Premier Miro. They were mostly nominated by the President's son and heir apparent Bashar to pursue badly needed reforms.

The following is the cabinet, as listed on March 13 by the official Syrian Arab New Agency (SANA):

- Dr. Mohammed Mustafa Miro, Prime Minister (see his profiles in OMT). - 1st Lt Gen. Mustafa Tlas, Deputy Premier & Defence Minister. - Eng. Mohammed Naji Al Ittri, Deputy Premier for Services (new). - Dr. Khalid Raa'd, Deputy Premier for Economic Affairs (new). - Farouk Al Shara, Foreign Minister. - Dr. Mohammad Al Harba, Interior Minister. - Dr. Mohammed Al Imadi, Minister of Economy & Foreign Trade. - Nasser Qaddour, Minister of State for Foreign Affairs. - Dr. Mohammed Khalid Al Mahaini, Minister of Finance. - Dr. Mohammad Iyad Al Shatti, Minister of Health. - Asaa'd Mustafa, Minister of Agriculture & Agrarian Reform. - Eng. Radhwan Martini, Minister of Communications. - Eng. Hussam Al Safadi, Minister of Housing & Utilities. - Engineer Munib Bin Asaa'd Saeb Al Dahr, Minister of Electricity. - Mohammad Bin Abdul Rau'f Ziada, Minister of Awqaf (religious affairs). - Mohammad Maher Husni Jamal, Minister Of Oil & Mineral Resources. - Salam Al Yassin, Minister of Local Administration (new). - Adnan Omran, Minister of Information. - Haitham Al Dhweihi, Minister of Presidential Affairs (new). - Nihad Mushantat, Minister of Construction & Building (new). - Dr. Maha Qanout, Minister of Culture (new). - Dr. Hassan Al Nouri, Minister of State (new). - Qassem Miqdad, Minister of Tourism (new). - Dr. Mahmoud Al Sayid, Minister of Education (new). - Dr. Farouq Al Adli, Minister of State for the Environment (new). - Nabil Al Khatib, Minister of Justice (new). - Dr. Issam Al Zaim, Minister of State for Planning Affairs (new). - Dr. Hassan Risheh, Minister of Higher Education (new). - Engineer Mukarram Obaid, Minister of Transport (new). - Mohammad Mufdhi Sifo, Minister of State for Cabinet Affairs (new). - Dr. Baraa' Al Qudsi, Minister of Labour & Social Affairs (new). - Dr. Ussama Maa' Al Bared, Minister of Supply & Domestic Trade (new). - Dr. Ihsan Shritih, Minister of State (new). - Eng. Ahmad Hamo, Minister of Industry (new). - Taha Al Attrash, Minister of Irrigation (new). - Makhoul Abu Hamdha, Minister Of State.

The ministers were sworn in on March 14 in front of President Assad.
COPYRIGHT 2000 Input Solutions
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2000, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:APS Review Downstream Trends
Geographic Code:7SYRI
Date:Mar 20, 2000
Previous Article:SYRIA - Profile - Ali Abbas and other CEOs.
Next Article:SYRIA - Profile - Dr. Khalid Raa'd.

Related Articles
The U.S. and the Israeli-Syrian Peace Process.
ARAB AFFAIRS - Sept. 2 - Syria Backs Free Lebanon Elections.
SYRIA - The Government.
SYRIA - The Government.
SYRIA - The Government.
SYRIA - The Jordan Factor.
SYRIA - The Government.
After the Damascus Spring.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters