Printer Friendly


Beat Jindal Steel &Power in athrilling Indian Open final

RIDING on Dhruvpal Godara's individual brilliance, SSC- HPRC secured a hard- fought 7- 6 victory over Jindal Steel & Power ( JSP) in a cliffhanger of a final at the Jaipur Polo Ground on Sunday. Dhruvpal was also adjudged the Most Valuable Player of the of the Indian Open Polo Championship.

On a pleasant afternoon which saw polo lovers from across the Capital throng to the ground, Dhruvpal scored all the seven goals for his side.

But it wasn't a cakewalk, especially after Tom de Bruin's three strikes in the second chukker had swung the momentum in JSP's favour.

However, de Bruin also missed a couple of penalties, one of which, in the last few seconds of the sixth and final chukker, proved costly as JSP lost a glorious opportunity to draw level.

SSC seized control of the proceedings in the first chukker as Dhruvpal scored two penalties in quick succession.

Soon it was 3- 0 to SSP, before de Bruin brought JSP fighting back into the match.

Tom put JSP on the board by converting a 40- yard penalty, before scoring the first field goal of the match with a brilliant solo run. He then fired in the equaliser a minute later with equal finesse.

De Bruin created a lot of problems for the SSC- HPRC defence but missed an opportunity to put his side in the lead before the end of the second chukker.

The third and fourth chukkers were relatively sedate affairs, as there were only two goals.

But Dhruvpal was back in his elements in the fifth chukker as he converted another 30- yard penalty to put his side in front.

Dhruvpal constant thorn in JSP's flesh and also provided some defencesplitting passes. But JSP kept pressing for the equaliser and got their reward when Naveen Jindal scored a brilliant goal with just a minute left in the fifth chukker.

The sixth chukker again saw Dhruvpal tearing apart the JSP defence, compounding their misery by scoring two goals in the space of two minutes.

JSP's Max Charlton pulled one back with just a minute left and it looked like the match would head into the seventh chukker when JSP were awarded a penalty in the dying moments.

But de Bruin shot wide, sparking off celebrations in the SSCHPRC camp.

Dhruvpal Godara scores all seven goals for winners while Tom de Bruin fires four of Jindal's six

Copyright 2012 India Today Group. All Rights Reserved.

Provided by an company
COPYRIGHT 2012 Al Bawaba (Middle East) Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Mail Today (New Delhi, India)
Date:Nov 19, 2012
Previous Article:Randhir questions Malhotra's authority.
Next Article:UP grab lead after Kumar's 5.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |