Printer Friendly

SMTA announces 2003 Hutchins Grant recipient.

The Surface Mount Technology Association (SMTA, Minneapolis, MN, has announced the recipient of the 2003 Charles Hutchins Educational Grant. Andrew Perkins from the Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech, Atlanta, GA, has been selected by the SMTA Grant Committee to receive the award for his project, "Investigating the Combination of High and Low Cycle Fatigue on Solder Joints."

Perkins is a graduate student in mechanical engineering. Recently, his experience has been in material characterization, numerical modeling, design and reliability. Perkins hopes to perform research that will enhance the reliability of electronic packages, and he hopes to study the interfacing of microelectronics devices and biomedical applications. He has been active at local SMTA chapter events and plans on continuing his involvement with professional societies.

Perkins' project was selected from 17 applications reviewed by SMTA members and industry educators. The award includes $5,000 and travel expenses to SMTA International, during which Perkins was presented the award by Hutchins Grant Committee chairperson Dr. Laura Turbini, University of Toronto.

Cosponsored by Circuits Assembly magazine, the grant was established in memory of past SMTA president and industry colleague Charles Hutchins, who died in 1997.
COPYRIGHT 2003 UP Media Group, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2003, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Surface Mount Technology Association gives award to Andrew Perkins; Industry News
Publication:Circuits Assembly
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Oct 1, 2003
Previous Article:Circuits Assembly earns sixth ASBPE award.
Next Article:Productronica 2003 draws U.S. companies to Munich.

Related Articles
Meeting Features Solectron's Nishimura; Awards.
Opening session and annual meeting.
SMTA announces Hutchins Grant recipient.
SMTA recognizes outstanding authors.
SMTA announces Annual Awards.
SMTA seeks submissions for student grant.
SMTA International forms 2004 technical committee.
Circuits Assembly announces winners of 2004 Service Excellence Awards.
SMTA offers lead-free workshop.
Lehigh student nabs Hutchins Grant.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters