Printer Friendly


Byline: Mel Booth Sports Editor

SHELLEY have been relegated from the Drakes Huddersfield League Premiership - despite winning at Skelmanthorpe!

The Westerley Lane side will join Elland in the Jedi Sports Championship next season because Cawthorne also won, saving themselves from the drop with an eight-wicket win at Armitage Bridge.

Shelley hopes were raised at Skelmanthorpe thanks to an excellent performance from Mo Bhoola, who claimed three for four and hit an unbeaten 44 as his side won by four wickets.

Bhoola's effort with the ball, allied to figures of three for 23 from Ben Cant, two for 23 from Martin Sykes and one for 47 from Jordan Geldart, meant Skelmanthorpe were sent back for just 104. Bhoola then steered Shelley home, despite three-wicket hauls from Michael Kitson and Shahzada Khan, but the news from Cawthorne wasn't good.

They totalled 203-8 at the Bridge thanks to 52 from Michael Burgess and 45 from Liam Wiles, Jack Hinchliffe taking three for 36 for the home side.

Murtuza Hussain then picked up five for 42 and Gary Steele three for 33, but the Bridge took it close thanks to half centuries from Ryan Wadsworth and Andy Gledhill, but eventually fell eight short at 195 all out.

Greg Buckley celebrated with a century as Delph & Dobcross maintained their unbeaten record before being presented with the Byrom Shield.

Andy Gleave's side were guaranteed the Drakes title due to Saturday's rainoff and received the trophy from league president Donald Earnshaw after beating Shepley at Marsh Lane.

Buckley had an early escape and went on to hit 102 as Delph totalled 239-5. Gleave had 28 and Graeme Simpson an unbeaten 51 and, despite Dan Wood hitting 45, Aussie Daniel Anderson 40 and Shahban Raheem 47, Arron Lilley's three for 38 ensured Shepley were held at 179-9. Andy Smith was another man with a ton, hitting 103 as Kirkburton totalled 259 all out at Barkisland.

Aussie Sam Evans also hit 46, but it wasn't enough for victory as Alex Scholefield produced a superb allround performance.

Scholefield picked up seven for 76 in the Burton innings and then guided his side to a five-wicket win with a tremendous unbeaten 88.

Jamie Summerscales hammered 85 and Luke Bridges 44 as Barkisland homed in.

Lewis Kenworthy took six for 19 for Honley and hit 43, but they still lost against Scholes at Far End Lane.

Kenworthy's left-arm spin ensured Scholes collapsed from 131-4 to 136 all out - skipper Simon Kelly taking three for 59 - after opener James Wharton had compiled 30, Tom MacRury 40 and Tom Chadwick and rapid 36.

Fit-again Alex Clegg then did the business with the ball for Scholes, taking four for 30 as Honley were dismissed for 107.

Hoylandswaine picked up six points at home to Golcar, with Ben Potter taking four for 25 as the visitors were sent back for 134 - Upul Bandara scoring 39.

SP Singh guided Swaine to a six-wicket success with an unbeaten 50.

Relegated Elland did not get on at Broad Oak because of a wet field, so it was two points apiece.

Back our boys in Lumb final TOM Baxter of Hall Bower has been called up to the Huddersfield squad for this Sunday's Joe Lumb Cup final.

Marsden's Harry Bissett captains the Under 17s in the showpiece, which is against Barnsley and has a Noon start at Broad Oak CC.

Huddersfield are bidding to win the trophy for the first time since 2012, when Aire/Wharfe were their victims.

The following year, Huddersfield lost in the final to East Yorkshire, so they are keen to get their name back on the trophy and big support at the Colne Valley venue would be welcome.

Huddersfield: (from) Harry Bissett (Marsden, capt), Jacob Mulhall (Lepton), Nathan Swift (Kirkheaton), Nathan Cyrus (Slaithwaite), Liam Greig (Denby Dale, wkt), Ben Balmforth (Upperthong), Jevan Peacock (Broad Oak), Sam Baxter (Hall Bower), Musa Ahmed (Hall Bower), Jack Hinchliffe (Armitage Bridge), Tom Baxter (Hall Bower), Tom Addy (Almondbury Wes). Scorer - Tim Hirst. Manager - Roger Peaker.

Barnsley: Nathan Swift (capt), Dylan Smythe, Callum Higgins (wkt), Connor Thompson, Chris Pickford, Jake Hardcastle, Oliver Bennett, Oliver Blackburn, Matty Cox, Jacob Hollins, Callum Bailey. Manager - Darren Crossland.

Umpires: John Mullan and Steve Daveney (both Halifax).

England play their one-off T20 against Pakistan tomorrow (6.30 at Old Trafford).
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2016 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Sport
Publication:Huddersfield Daily Examiner (Huddersfield, England)
Date:Sep 6, 2016
Previous Article:Title race wide open as Lees and Lyth do battle to be first batsman to 1,000 runs.
Next Article:Late try robs the brave Rishies.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters