Printer Friendly

Rubber Division offers awards. (Meetings).

Nominations are being accepted by the Rubber Division, American Chemical Society, for six technical awards to be presented in 2003. These awards include the Charles Goodyear Medal Award, the Sparks-Thomas Award, the Melvin Mooney Distinguished Technology Award, the George Stafford Whitby Award for Distinguished Teaching and Research, the Fernley H. Banbury Award and the Chemistry of Thermoplastic Elastomers Award.

These awards recognize specific distinguished achievements of rubber scientists, engineers, chemists and technologists. Special honors are received with the various awards, such as monetary honorariums, engraved plaques and recognition at an awards banquet held in honor of the recipients.

Presentations to the award winners will be made during the Rubber Division's 163rd Spring Technical Meeting, to be held April 28-30, 2003, in San Francisco, CA.

The Charles Goodyear Medal perpetuates the memory of Charles Goodyear, the discoverer of the vulcanization of rubber, by honoring individuals for outstanding invention, innovation or development which has resulted in a significant change or contribution to the nature of the rubber industry.

The Goodyear Medal Award consists of $6,000, a framed certificate, lifetime Rubber Division membership and $1,000 for expenses incurred incidental to attending the awards ceremony, as well as two nights lodging at the Division meeting.

The Goodyear Medalist is expected to deliver a lecture covering the back ground, development, implementation and commercialization of the invention or innovation pertinent to the award.

The Charles Goodyear Medal Award was established by the Rubber Division in 1941 as part of its continuing effort to honor scientists and engineers for their outstanding inventions, innovations or developments.

The Melvin Mooney Distinguished Technology Award perpetuates the memory of Melvin Mooney, the developer of the Mooney viscometer and other testing equipment, by honoring Rubber Division members who have exhibited exceptional technical competency by making significant and repeated contributions to rubber science and technology.

The Mooney Award consists of $3,000, a plaque and lifetime membership to the Rubber Division, plus $500 for travel expenses incurred to attend the awards ceremony.

The Fernley H. Banbury Award perpetuates the memory of the inventor and developer of the internal mixer that bears his name, by honoring innovations of production equipment widely used in the manufacture of rubber or rubber-like articles of importance.

The Banbury Award consists of $3,000, a plaque and $500 for travel expenses incurred to attend the awards ceremony. The award was established in 1986.

The Sparks-Thomas Award perpetuates the memory of William J. Sparks and Robert M. Thomas, chemists who developed butyl rubber, by recognizing and encouraging outstanding scientific contributions and innovations in the field of elastomers by younger scientists, technologists and engineers.

The Sparks-Thomas Award consists of $4,000, a bronze medal, a plaque and $500 for travel expenses incurred to attend the award ceremony. The nominee may be a citizen of any country and must be within 25 years of earning a baccalaureate degree.

The Chemistry of Thermoplastic Elastomers Award honors significant contributions to the advancement of the chemistry of thermoplastic elastomers. This award includes $4,000, a plaque and $500 for travel expenses incurred to attend the awards ceremony.

The recipient of this award shall be any chemical researcher who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of thermoplastic elastomer chemistry. Particular emphasis is placed on innovations that have yielded significant new commercial or patentable materials.

The George Stafford Whitby Award for Distinguished Teaching and Research perpetuates the memory of George S. Whitby, head of the rubber laboratory at the University of Akron and for years the only teacher of rubber chemistry in the U.S., by honoring outstanding international teachers of chemistry and polymer science and recognizing innovative research.

The Whitby Award consists of $3,000, a plaque and $500 for travel expenses incurred to attend the awards ceremony. The recipient shall have made outstanding contributions to chemical and/or polymer science education or research, including the training of professional rubber or polymer chemists, the dissemination of reliable information about chemistry to prospective chemists, to members of the profession, to students in other fields and to the general public, and the integration of chemistry and polymer science into the educational system.

Deadline for receipt of award nominations is August 1. Selection of finalists is determined by the Science and Technology Awards Committee and approved by the Executive Committee. Further information is available from the Rubber Division (330) 972-7814.
COPYRIGHT 2002 Lippincott & Peto, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2002, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Rubber World
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Jun 1, 2002
Previous Article:Redefining thermosets: a method of molding vulcanized rubber into new parts.
Next Article:Rubber Group news. (Meetings).

Related Articles
Rubber Division elects officers.
Rubber division takes nominations. (Meetings).
Rubber Division award winners announced.
Rubber Division meetings and opportunities.
Rubber Division: "Your society working for you".
Rubber Division seeks nominations.
Rubber Division names scholars, schedules student colloquium.
Rubber Division seeks nominations.
Rubber Division seeks nominations.
Akron, OH, hosts Rubber Division.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters