Printer Friendly

Root rested for limited-overs Aussies clashes; CRICKET.

JOE ROOT has been rested and Reece Topley is the only uncapped player called up after England announced two limitedovers squads to take on Australia.

Root has been an ever-present in England squads in all formats of recent times, and won the Compton-Miller Medal as man of the series in this summer's Ashes.

He is rested both from a 13-man squad for next Monday's one-off Twenty20 international in Cardiff, and from a 14-man squad for the five one-day internationals which follow.

Essex left-arm seamer Topley, 21, is included in the Twenty20 squad only.

Eoin Morgan will captain both, having led England in their unsuccessful World Cup campaign last winter but also then to success in a thrilling ODI series victory at home to New Zealand.

Morgan has been rested for several matches by Middlesex after losing his form with the bat.

Moeen Ali is back in both squads too, having been injured at the start of the summer, as is his fellow all-rounder Chris Woakes, who was similarly absent until recently with knee and hamstring trouble.

But there is no place in the squad for wicketkeeper batsman Jonny Bairstow.

England T20 squad (v Australia): EJG Morgan (Captain), MM Ali, SW Billings, JC Buttler, ST Finn, AD Hales, AU Rashid, JJ Roy, BA Stokes, RW Topley, JM Vince, DJ Willey, CR Woakes.

England ODI squad (v Australia): EJG Morgan (Captain), MM Ali, SW Billings, JC Buttler, ST Finn, AD Hales, LE Plunkett, AU Rashid, JJ Roy, BA Stokes, JWA Taylor, DJ Willey, CR Woakes, MA Wood.


England batsman Joe |Root was man of the Ashes

No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Daily Post (Conwy, Wales)
Date:Aug 25, 2015
Next Article:Vose calls on the in-form Dragons to stay grounded.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters