Printer Friendly

Rewards for outstanding and innovative engineers.

Applications are now open for the 2016 Baroness Piatt of Writtie Award and for the 2016 Hawley Award, with respective cash prizes of [pounds sterling]1,000 and [pounds sterling]5,000.

The awards are presented by the Worshipful Company of Engineers through their trust fund, The Engineers Trust (, which supports numerous annual awards and prizes to promote excellence among qualified engineers and those working towards registration as an Engineering Technician, Incorporated Engineer or Chartered Engineer.

Shortlisted candidates for both awards will present their work to an interview panel.

The Baroness Platt of Writtle IEng Award is in its fourth year in its present format and recognises the achievements of outstanding, newly registered Incorporated Engineers (IEng) across all disciplines. Candidates must be nominated by their institution, so we are asking institutions to put forward their most remarkable new IEng members and give them the opportunity to achieve this accolade and to boost their careers.

Institutions can nominate up to five candidates who have achieved IEng status during 2015, and who have displayed outstanding ability to apply engineering knowledge, strength of commitment to the engineering profession, excellent communication skills and demonstrated managerial qualities.

The submission deadline for the Baroness Piatt of Writtle Award is Monday 4 April 2016 and shortlisted candidates will be invited to attend an interview at the end of that month.

Jon Prichard, CEO of the Engineering Council, said: "Incorporated Engineers make an essential contribution to all sectors of the engineering profession. Approximately 1,300 individuals achieve IEng status every year, and through the Baroness Platt of Writtle Award, the Worshipful Company of Engineers is recognising and rewarding the most outstanding of these newly registered engineers."

The Hawley Award is presented for the most outstanding engineering innovation that delivers demonstrable benefit to the environment. Individuals can put themselves forward for the award but must have the support of a supervisor.

Entries must be based on work undertaken after graduate or post-graduate degree work and must have at least reached a stage where a prototype or a proof of concept has been developed, with the expectation of commercial implementation.

Candidates must be members of a professional engineering institution and within 10 years of starting a professional career as an engineer or scientist in either academia or industry.

Barry Brooks, Hawley Award co-ordinator and IET Past President, said: "Every year, the interview panel is impressed by the high standard of innovative projects put forward for the Hawley Award. We are looking for original projects that are on their way to becoming commercially viable products or systems, with the potential to improve the environment."

The submission deadline for the Hawley Award is Monday 18 April 2016. Interviews for shortlisted candidates will be held in early May 2016. The winners of both awards will be presented with an engraved medal, certificate and cash prize at the Worshipful Company of Engineers Annual Awards Ceremony and Dinner on 19 July, 2016.

* Details of the Baroness Platt of Writtle Award visit:

* Details about the Hawley Award visit:
COPYRIGHT 2016 Caspian Publishing Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2016 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Environmental Engineering
Date:Feb 1, 2016
Previous Article:Prototyping takes 5G from concept to reality: future use of 5G has thrown up some highly complex challenges, not least of which is prototyping....
Next Article:CPD: your commitment to enhancing your competence.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |