Printer Friendly

Results of parliamentary elections in Tajikistan.

The ruling People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan, led by President Emomali Rahmon, won 81% of seats in the lower house of Parliament in the elections held on March 1, the Central Commission for Elections and Referenda of Tajikistan told AKIpress.

The People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan has won 51 mandates in the parliament of 63 seats in total.

The parliament of Tajikistan will also consist of five members of the Agrarian Party, three members of the Party of Economic Reform of Tajikistan, and two Communists although the leadership of the Communist Party does not recognize them.

President of the Socialist Party Abduhalim Gaffarov and Chairman of the Democratic Party Saidzhafar Ismonov became the members of the parliament for the first time in the history of the bicameral parliament of the country since 2000.

The lower house of the Tajikistan parliament of last convocation had 55 democrats, two Islamists, two communists, two reform economists, and two farmers.

News Agency I...IUIypress - 2001-2015 Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).

COPYRIGHT 2015 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:AKIpress News Agency
Geographic Code:9TAJI
Date:Mar 4, 2015
Previous Article:Issues of security in Central Asia and Afghanistan discussed in Ashgabat.
Next Article:Five schools of Kadamjai district to install new equipment for Japanese grant funds.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters