Printer Friendly

Record number for Saints event; CYCLING.

A RECORD number of riders in round two of the North Wales Cyclo Cross league arrived at the new testing course in the St Asaph Park.

The first race saw 21 under-12s being able to use the full course for the first time in the league history, and a fine battle eventually saw Scott Williams (CBMDC) clinch the victory ahead of Huw Jones (Dwyfor CC) and Sven Grube (Rhyl CC) with Greg Hopkins (CBMDC) not far behind.

Nia Barnwell (CBMDC) was the girls winner from Holly Bradbury (NWCXG) and Victoria Sykes (Chester Go-ride).

For the second time in the main race it was a case of old verses young with top veterans Steve Bradbrook (Alf Jones Cycles) and Mark Jones (NWCXG) battling with 15-year-old Joe Barnwell (Marsh Tracks).

Jones lost the flying duo and had a lonely ride to the finish. Up front the lead changed constantly with young Barnwell giving Bradbrook a tough ride and taking the U16s race win from team-mate Simon Price with race one winner John Spill (Rhos CC) third.

Megan Woodward (NWMB) scored her second win of the season and moves to the top of the U16s league table.

Bradbrook rode alone over the last three laps with Jones in second position 35 seconds behind and moving to the top of the league table, with Welsh Champion Ian Evans in third place.

Sarah Barnwell (CBMDC) made it a family hat-trick winning the ladies race from Janet Burtham. REESULT: 1st Steve Bradbrook (Alf Jones Cycles), 2nd Mark Jones (NWCXG), 3rd Ian Evans, 4th Chris Jones (GWRT), 5th Chris Stephens (Chester RC), 6th Steve Astbury (Fibrax Wrexham), 7th Kurt Scott (HC Belgians), 8th Will Morgan (Fibrax Wrexham), 9th Glen Price, 10th Mark Baker (GWRT).

Ladies: 1st Sarah Barnwell (CBMDC), 2nd Janet Burthem (VC Melyd), 3rd Amanda Buckley (Chester RC).

Under-16 Boys: 1st Joe Barnwell (Marsh Tracks), 2nd Simon Price (Marsh Tracks), 3rd John Spill Rhos CC). Girls: 1st Megan Woodward (NMMB), 2nd Phoebe Hopkins (CBMDC), 3rd Lucy Lee (Marsh Tracks).

Under-12 Boys: 1st Scott Williams (CBMDC) 2nd Huw Jones (Dwyfor CC, 3rd Sven Grube (Rhyl CC). Girls: 1st Nia Barnwell (CBMDC), 2nd Holly Bradbrook (NWCXG), 3rd Victoria Sykes (Chester go-ride).
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2013 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Features
Publication:Daily Post (Conwy, Wales)
Date:Oct 17, 2013
Previous Article:Kell gets title shot; BOXING.
Next Article:N.Wales location for CBBC series.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |