Printer Friendly

Recognition of ASME Dynamic Systems and Control (DSC) Division Members.

SAE International presents Edward N. Cole Award for Automotive Engineering Innovation to Professor John J. Moskwa

SAE International presented John J. Moskwa of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the Edward N. Cole Award for Automotive Engineering Innovation. Professor Moskwa is a fellow of SAE and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and a member of the ASME Dynamic Systems and Control Division.

The award was given to Professor Moskwa to recognize his research activities in the Powertrain Control Research Laboratory at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. His research efforts pertain to the designing, patenting, developing, and building of a unique singlecylinder engine transient test system.

This system replicates the instantaneous dynamic boundary conditions that occur in a multi-cylinder engine, and therefore allows researchers to explore the engine's dynamics with greater accuracy and accessibility. It also allows for testing on the single-cylinder engine, such as cold-start tests and very rapid transients that are not possible on the current state-of-the-art single-cylinder research engines. In addition, this system corrects the errors in in-cylinder charge motion of current single-cylinder research engines, by dynamically controlling the intake gas dynamics, that is, replicating the multi-cylinder engine's gas dynamics, and the resulting in-cylinder charge motion from momentum.

Praise for Professor Moskwa's achievement:

"[Professor Moskwa] is the first university professor anywhere in the world to receive this award in its 34-year history."

--University of Michigan's Michigan Engineer, Vol. XXIV, No. 2, Fall 2012.

"This is SAE's most prestigious award for automotive engineering innovation ..."

--MIT Technology Review, Vol.115, No. 5, Sept. 2012

COPYRIGHT 2013 American Society of Mechanical Engineers
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2013 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:American Society of Mechanical Engineers; award for Professor John J. Moskwa
Comment:Recognition of ASME Dynamic Systems and Control (DSC) Division Members.(American Society of Mechanical Engineers)(award for Professor John J.
Publication:Mechanical Engineering-CIME
Article Type:Brief article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Dec 1, 2013
Previous Article:Record number of registrants at 2013 American Control Conference (ACC).
Next Article:University of Texas system honors Professor Dumitru Caruntu with Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters