Printer Friendly

Queen's Birthday Honours List.

CBE Boxer Joseph William Calzaghe, MBE, for services to sport and for voluntary service in Wales.

Professor Brian Ion Duerden, from Chepstow, a Professor of Medical Microbiology at Cardiff University School of Medicine, for services to medicine and charity.

OBE David Guy Clarke, from Cardiff, for voluntary service to the community in Wales.

Cardiff's Andy Gale, formerly a specialist adviser for the housing needs team at the Department for Communities and Local Government.

Mutale Rose Nyoni, from Cardiff, who is chairman of the Care Council for Wales, for services to social care and the voluntary sector in Wales.

MBE Scout leader Peter Desmond Backhouse, from Llanedeyrn, Cardiff, for voluntary service to the cubs and scouts in Cardiff.

Professor Alan Kenneth Burnett, head of the department of haematology at Cardiff University School of Medicine, for services to Medicine.

Marcelle Anita Cook, headteacher of Bedwas High School, for services to education in Caerphilly.

Stephen Geoffrey Gamgee, from Penarth, who is chief excutive of Cardiff-based homelessness charity The Wallich, for services to homeless people.

Eric Mansell Hammonds, from Cardiff, for charitable services in South Wales.

Dr Meraj Uddin Hasan, director of the South Wales Managed Clinical Network in Child Adolescent Psychiatry, for services to medicine and to the community in South Wales.

Cardiff's Christine Alison Holvey, chief executive and project director for Opportunity Wales, for services to eCommerce for small businesses.

Peter Hamish Humphries, from Cardiff, formerly the interpretation manager for Cadw.

Hilary King, from Rhondda, president of the World Indoor Bowls Council, for services to bowls in Wales.

Rev Desmond Robert Kitto, JP, from Cardiff, for voluntary service to the community in South Wales.

James Stewart MacKay, from Cardiff, for services to the environment in South East Wales.

Huedel Morgan-Isaac, from Cardiff, clinical lead for the midwifery-led unit at Llandough Hospital.

Barbara Jean Natasegara, chief executive officer of Safer Wales, for services to the community in Cardiff.

Caerphilly councillor Leslie Raymond Rees for services to local government and to the community in Caerphilly.

Shahien Taj, founder and executive director of the Henna Foundation, based in Roath, Cardiff, for services to diverse community engagement.

Colin Thomson, from Bridgend, for services to the NHS and to charity in Wales.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2008 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Sport
Publication:South Wales Echo (Cardiff, Wales)
Geographic Code:4EUUK
Date:Jun 14, 2008
Previous Article:Calzaghe ko'd by CBE; Queen's Birthday Honours for twenty in South Wales.
Next Article:Headteacher Anita is 'overwhelmed.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters