Printer Friendly

Quartet for Horns (1959).

Quartet for Horns (1959).

Jim Irwin sent seven compositions that are available for free download from his website: Though these compositions were composed some years ago, they have been made available only recently. The website has scores, parts, and sample recordings of these compositions and more for FREE. Irwin (b. 1939) received his BM and DMA degrees in horn performance from The University of Iowa, and he completed his MM degree in horn performance with honors at Indiana University. Active in composition since his high school days, his composition teachers include Eldon Obrecht, Richard Hervig, Philip Bezanson, Juan Orrego-Salas, and Thomas Beversdorf. Irwin was a member of the horn section of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra from 1964 until 1971. His teaching positions have included faculty positions at East Texas State University, Eastfield College, and at Richland College from 1980 to 2006 where he directed the Symphonic Wind Ensemble, and taught Music Appreciation, Music Literature, Music Theory, and Horn. The works received are presented below chronologically.

This is a serious, dissonant work in two movements, lasting a total of fifteen minutes. The music is very expressive, and the challenges, including an interesting collection of extended techniques, definitely require an advanced group. In the first movement, "Slowly, with anguish," the players create a dialogue or are given moments of solos (perhaps exploring their own grief?) that gradually arch to the middle, where the effect is quite agitated, and then the emotion gradually subsides. The second movement starts slowly, with some pointillism and silence, and the parts gradually come together. After extended slow section, it gradually speeds up to a sort of processional feeling that continues to build momentum primarily through interjections from the individual parts. These interjections occasionally come together and gradually things get quite chaotic, eventually coming to an abrupt halt. A final Epilog slows things down, recalling the first movement, yet ending with a surprising flourish.

COPYRIGHT 2015 International Horn Society
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Author:Snedeker, Jeffrey
Publication:The Horn Call
Date:Oct 1, 2015
Previous Article:Duo, op. 105, for trumpet and horn.
Next Article:Brass Trio No. 1 (1960).

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters