Printer Friendly

Power Hockey.

North America's elite PowerHockey[TM] teams met in Toronto, Canada, to compete in the biannual Power-Hockey Cup. The tournament took place at Ryerson University in the heart of downtown Toronto. Pool play games were August 6-7 with playoffs on August 8.

The Calgary Selects, who claimed the title in 2006 and 2008, looked to three-peat as champions. They had stiff competition from a talented group of teams: the Carolina Fury, Michigan Mustangs, Minnesota Stars, Minnesota Saints, Ottawa Capitals, Toronto Lake Raiders, and Toronto Rock.

The PowerHockey Cup 2010 marked the fourth official event (Minneapolis, 2004; Calgary, Alberta, Canada, 2006; Minneapolis, 2008) of the North American PowerHockey Association (NAPHA), a joint venture of the U.S. Electric Wheelchair Hockey Association (EWHA) and Canadian Electric Wheelchair Hockey Association (CEWHA). The purpose of NAPHA is to develop a strong working relationship among all developed power-wheelchair hockey programs throughout North America and abroad. NAPHA members will work together to form the future for PowerHockey tournaments, setting North American standards for rules, equipment, tournament play, tournament organization/planning, and most importantly, one Championship Cup all players dream to win someday.

PowerHockey is a fast-paced, skilled sport for people who use power wheelchairs. The games are filled with everything from end-to-end rushes on goal to stick handling and passing to skillful defensive play. You see many of the same things as in an ice hockey game, except the ice is replaced with a gym floor and the puck with a Wiffle[R] plastic ball. The determination, competitiveness, and intensity are just as strong.

PowerHockey continues to be the sport for power-wheelchair users looking for a fun athletic outlet that challenges physical and mental skills. And, like the NHL's Stanley Cup is the trophy ice hockey players dream to have their names engraved upon, the PowerHockey Cup bears the names of the world's best players who have had the unique chance to win it.

So, who took the Cup this year? There was no three-peat for the Calgary Selects. It was an all-American final. Congratulations to the Minnesota Saints, who marched by the Michigan Mustangs, 6-4.


COPYRIGHT 2010 Paralyzed Veterans of America
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2010 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:sports and recreation
Publication:PN - Paraplegia News
Geographic Code:1U4MN
Date:Oct 1, 2010
Previous Article:Teen takes air-gun title.
Next Article:Hot time at the Capital Clash.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters