Printer Friendly

Plan is unveiled for new look boundaries.

Byline: SIMON GILBERT Chief Reporter

CONTROVERSIAL planned boundary changes in Coventry and Warwickshire have been officially unveiled by the Boundary Commission.

As exclusively revealed by the Telegraph, the new parliamentary constituency boundaries would see Knowle and Meriden move into Coventry as part of a seat named 'Coventry West and Meriden'.

Some wards currently in Coventry South will also move into the new Coventry West and Meriden seat - including Tory stronghold Westwood. Coventry North East will remain unchanged.

Major changes in Warwickshire will see Binley Woods moved into the Nuneaton constituency from Rugby along with Wolston, Wolvey and Shilton.

Elsewhere Rugby will become 'Rugby and Southam', Kenilworth will join Leamington in a 'Leamington and Kenilworth' constituency and a new 'Warwick and Stratford-on-Avon' seat will be created.

Seven areas in south Stratford will be shaved off into a constituency called 'Evesham and South Warwickshire'. North Warwickshire will remain its own constituency with minor amendments to its boundaries.

The plans are part of a bid to reduce the number of MPs in the county and will now go out for public consultation. The plans do not affect council boundaries.

Regarding Coventry, the Boundary Commission said: "We noted that the electorate of the City of Coventry is too small to continue to be allocated three whole constituencies. We propose that the existing Coventry North East constituency be left unchanged. "We also propose to add the two Solihull borough wards of Knowle and Meriden to a Coventry West and Meriden constituency that also contains five Coventry city wards. This change results in the remaining seven Coventry city wards forming a Coventry South constituency."

The move drew plenty of reaction on social media.

Writing on the Telegraph's Facebook, Adam Harmsworth said: "The boundary changes are undemocratic gerrymandering. No single party should have the power to decide the structure of future elections dependent on constituency boundaries."

But Matthew William Hancox said: "It's about time constituencies were rebalanced. It's hardly correct how it is now where we have MPs some who have constituencies of circa 16,000 eligible voters and other have close to 110,000. As close as possible each constituency should be the same or similar size."

How the constituencies would look COVENTRY NORTH-EAST Foleshill Henley Longford Lower Stoke Upper Stoke Wyken COVENTRY WEST AND MERIDEN Bablake Holbrooks Wainbody Westwood Woodlands Knowle Meriden COVENTRY SOUTH Binley and Willenhall Cheylesmore Earlsdon Radford Sherbourne St. Michael's Whoberley For the full breakdown visit - To have your say on the proposals visit

COPYRIGHT 2016 Coventry Newpapers
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2016 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Coventry Evening Telegraph (England)
Geographic Code:4EUUK
Date:Sep 14, 2016
Previous Article:America Airlines announces it is pulling out.
Next Article:First day at school.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters