Printer Friendly

Piotr sets a hot pace.

Byline: CYCLING Andy Turner

COVENTRY Road Club have a new Polish National 19 km time trial champion after the club's fast man Piotr Klin won the 20-29 age group in a time of 25 minutes 7 seconds.

Klin beat his nearest rivals by an impressive 33 seconds and earned himself a wild card entry for the Amateur Worlds in the process.

Kenilworth fast man Matt Clinton, meanwhile, finished an impressive fourth out of almost 150 riders in the National 50 mile time trial championships, this year held in Plymouth.

The 31-year-old Mike Vaughan Cycles' rider set off last man as the highest seeded rider based on his second place in the 2015 Championships.

Crossing the line at 1h 43mins 5 secs(an average of 29.1mph), it was a PB by almost a minute but not enough to earn a medal, placing fourth and just over three minutes down from Ryan Perry, also winner of the 2015 National 25 mile Championships.

In road racing, Coventrybased Team Jewson's Richard Shimmell won the race for riders aged 45 and over in the Tommy Godwin Memorial series organised by Solihull CC at Bearley, near Stratford on Avon, incorporating the L.V.R.C. Percy Stallard national road race series for veteran riders.

The Balsall Common team member attacked from the start along with another rider in the 56-mile race while team-mate, Nuneaton-based Ian Cooper, finished in third place.

Hinckley's Mike Twelves dominated the 50+ event and is now second overall in the series which he has won for the past three seasons, while Rugby member, Rob O'Connor, was beaten into second place by his main rival in the 55+ race and he too issecond in the overall series.

Dunchurch member Martin Hackley won the 65+ race and now leads the overall series while Baginton's Mick Ives won the over 75 race.

In mountain biking, Jewson's Hinckley rider Phil Stokes won the 60+ Friday Night summer season event at Delapre in Northamptonshire, with Coventry member Peter Busby second in the 50-plus race. Stokes then followed that up with first place in his age group in the Midland Cross Country event at Eckington, near Sheffield.

Hinckley rider Kirby Bennett won the 55-plus Midland Championship and Nuneaton's Lindsay Nell finished third in the veteran ladies championships, while in Academy rider Lotta Mansfield finished second in the Under-14s event.

Hinckley Cycle Racing Club has got off to a flying start in 2016. Already nine of the season's 23 scheduled club time trials have taken place with some cracking results on the club's testing Wolvey course despite some dismal weather.

The first time trial of the season saw an impressive turn out of 42 riders with a couple of riders achieving personal bests - Simon Law with a time of 23-47 and Mark Mackay with a time of 23-08. Tom Rowlands also rode a decent 28-53 for his first ride.

The second Tuesday night 10 saw David Mead achieving a club course record in 20-56. At the same time Alex Cooke rode a personal best of 27-48 and Rachel Rathbone also achieved a personal best time of 29-41.

The weather was favouring the club on round three of the time trials with a massive turnout of 59 riders with more personal bests achieved by three riders and an impressive first ride time of 30-56 recorded for Emma Styles.

In contrast, round six saw the worst kind of cycling weather resulting in just seven riders braving the wet course with the fastest HCRC rider being Karl Weatherall coming in with a time of 22-24.

HCRC will be hosting its annual open 10 mile time trial on June 19, shortly followed by the open 25 event on July 17.

The club's Flyers sessions continue to attract a number of budding young riders, these sessions are held bi-weekly on Saturday afternoons on the carpark of the Triumph Motorcycle Factory on Normandy Way (next session will be held this weekend, June 11). The Flyers sessions cover all sorts of cycling techniques and disciplines. At the same time the club runs a Ladies Leisure Ride also departing from the Triumph car-park at 2pm on the same Saturdays as the Flyers' sessions. All ladies are welcome to join in with these rides as it's open to members and non-members alike.

MIDWEEK CLUB TIME TRIALS Coventry Road Club's 25-mile time trial (Rosa and Fred Horton Trophy): Jack O'Neill 51-27,Peter Noel 58-19,Alice Cobb 59-23,Dafydd Williams 59-26, James Hartwright 1-00-19, Simon Smith 1-01-36, Mark Stewart 1-01-38, Mark Burnham 1-01-53, Josh Lahiri 1-02-33,Tom Payne 1-03-04,Rob Anderson 1-06-37, John Grumbley 1-07-02, Stephen Williams 1-07-42, Cath Fenn 1-08-38,Lucy Hartwright 1-14-10.

Coventry CC's 25-mile time trial at Wolvey: Jon Wood 58-26, David Dew 58-49, Ben Collier 1-06-53, Carl Nash 1-07-15, David Shore 1-09-27. Fastest on handicap: Jon Wood 59-36. Best veteran on standard: Jon Wood +9-48.

Coventry CC's 10-mile time trial at Princethorpe: Jon Wood 23-06, Andrew White 26-53, Andy Gardner 27-00, Andy Delaney 27-13, Judy Elson 28-00, Jason Parton 29-11. Fastest on handicap: Judy Elson 22-45. Best vet on standard: Jon Wood +3-44. Private entries: Rob Anderson (RNRMCA) 25-26, Tom Payne (Coventry RC) 25-55.

Rugby RCC's 10-mile time trial at Princethorpe: Craig McKee & Ryan Kenworthy both 20-42, Eliot Blundell 21-38, Dave Elliott 21-42, Jonathan Cottingham 21-50, David Newton 21-51, Jason Haynes 21-57, Simon Bayliss 22-06, Mark Wise 22-23, Peter Wright 22-31, Russell Green 22-32, Paul Birch 22-32, Andy Craig 22-38, Adrian Tayles 22-47, Jim Lacey 22-51, Michael Pugh 23-01, Chris Parsons 23-09, David Gillett 23-10, Dean Mason 23-20, Richard Stirling 23-29, Ben Atkinson 23-30, Shin Braich 23-37, Karl Eveleigh 23-38, Luke Pugh 23-39, Barrie Mitchell 23-47, Rob Stilgoe 23-48, Mike McCann 23-49, Mike Smallwood 23-57, Sean Shields 24-13, Ben Robson 24-20, Phil Byrne 24-22, David Kimberley 24-27, Roman Matusiak 24-31, Anthony Smith 24-32, Peter Timmins 24-32, Paul Thurman 24-41, Martin Orrill 25-30, Patrick Weir 25-31, Simon Brand 25-32, Howard Beale 25-53, Anita Howe 26-13, Angus Gordon 26-21, Jonathan Jordan 26-31, Caroline Read 26-37, Andrew Boon 26-45, Piotr Parkitny 26-53, Alan James 27-48, Eric Burke 27-56, Judith Harper 30-23, John Brothers 31-06.

Rugby RCC's 10-mile time trial on the Lawford course: Ryan Kenworthy 21-24, Craig McKee 21-39, Dave Elliott 22-47, Lewis Jones 23-03, Eliot Blundell 23-06, Jonathan Cottingham 23-09, Peter Wright 23-37, Russell Green 24-26, Richard Wayman 24-31, Ben Atkinson 24-38, Rob Stilgoe 24-40, Dean Mason 24-47, Ben Robson 25-10, Anthony Smith 25-15, Karl Eveleigh 25-24, Barrie Mitchell 25-45, Roman Matusiak 25-52, Paul Thurman 25-58, Peter Timmins 26-36, Simon Brand 27-22, Tony Johnson 27-40, Caroline Read 28-31, Ellis Pullinger 28-32, Eric Burke 29-30, Alan James 30-37, Naomi Leugs 36-58. Club handicap: Roman Matusiak 19-32, Anthony Smith 19-55, Ellis Pullinger 20-12. Private entries: Andy Dean 27-46, Mark Smith 30-22.
COPYRIGHT 2016 Coventry Newpapers
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2016 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Sport
Publication:Coventry Evening Telegraph (England)
Geographic Code:4EUUK
Date:Jun 16, 2016
Previous Article:Horton salutes hero Danny.
Next Article:Seva School goes from strength to strength.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters