Printer Friendly

Picosa: Locus of Movement Concert.

Byline: Jennie Brown

Picosa's LOCUS OF MOVEMENT concert is all about capturing movement - musically, symbolically, and historically.

Tuesday, February 20th, 7:30pm PianoForte Chicago

Sunday, March 11th, 3:00pm, Mayslake Peabody Estate, Oak Brook

Chicago & Oak Brook, IL - Picosa brings a moving program to the stage on Tuesday, February 20th at 7:30pm at PianoForte Chicago, 1335 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago and Sunday, March 11th at 3:00pm, Mayslake Peabody Estate, 1717 W. 31st Street, Oak Brook. Music lovers will enjoy experiencing Picosa's signature symphonic sound and welcoming community at every program of virtuosic chamber music. General Admission tickets for the concert and dessert reception are $25 with discounts available for seniors and students. Picosa is a 501(c)(3) not for profit organization. To purchase tickets, visit:

The program opens with the dance-inspired Divertimento opus 100, no. 1, by Franz Joseph Haydn. Three miniature works by Augusta Read Thomas D(i)agon(als) for solo clarinet, Euterpe's Caprice for solo flute, and Capricci for flute and clarinet capture movement and motion in their mercurial and spinning musical lines.

Sprinkled throughout the program are three contrasting works representing the motion through life itself, from childhood to the twilight years. Marc Mellits' Mara's Lullaby for flute, cello, and piano captures a melody the composer sang to his infant daughter at bedtime, and Asha Srinivasan's Dviraag for flute and cello references the Carnatic singing of the composer's youth. Claude Debussy's Violin Sonata was written late in the composers' life, and seems particularly appropriate as we observe Debussy's Centenary Celebration, honoring the 100th anniversary of his passing in 2018.

Picosa is thrilled to present Arnold Schoenberg's romantic yet revolutionary Kammersymphonie No. 1, transcribed by Anton Webern. The music of "the Second Viennese School", which included composers Arnold Schoenberg and his pupils Anton Webern and Alban Berg, created a seismic shift in the western tradition of classical music, moving away from diatonicism and towards heterodox terrain in tonality and form. Works including Schoenberg's Kammersymphonie ultimately paved the way between the romantic music of composers like Richard Strauss and Gustav Mahler and the new modernist language and expression of contemporary music.

Finally, we are particularly excited to welcome visual artist Lewis Achenbach who will be live painting the entire event at Mayslake Peabody Estate in Oak Brook. His works of art will be available for sale after the concert. Following this concert, audience members are invited to stay for the Meet the Musicians Gourmet Dessert Reception to chat with all the performers and enjoy some treats.

Tickets are $25. High school students and younger are free, and accompanying parents receive a discounted ticket of $10. College student $10. Senior discounts available. Please vis-it to purchase tickets and for information about locations and parking.

Picosa is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Donations to the ensemble support Picosa operations including its commitment to bring music to underserved communities through their collaboration with Hesed House and nurturing rising amateur and young musicians through their Interludes Chamber Ensembles program. Please visit


Franz Joseph Haydn | Divertimento op. 100, No. 1 (flute/violin/cello)

I. Adagio cantabile

II. Allegro

III. Allegro moderato

Marc Mellits | Mara's Lullaby (flute/cello/piano)

Augusta Read Thomas | D(i)agon(als) (clarinet)

Augusta Read Thomas | Euterpe's Caprice (flute)

Augusta Read Thomas | Capricci (flute/clarinet)

Claude Debussy | Violin Sonata in g minor (violin/piano)

I. Allegro vivo

II. Intermede. Fantasque et leger

III. Finale. Tres anime

Asha Srinivasan | Dviraag (flute/cello)

Arnold Schoenberg arr. Webern | Kammersymphonie, op. 9 (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)


Jennie Oh Brown | flute

Andrea R. DiOrio | clarinet

Elizabeth Brausa Brathwaite | violin

Kuang-Hao Huang | piano

Jonathon Kirk | Composer-in-Residence


Kurt Fowler | cello
COPYRIGHT 2018 Paddock Publications
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Neighbor
Publication:Daily Herald (Arlington Heights, IL)
Geographic Code:1U3IL
Date:Feb 15, 2018
Previous Article:ParkTalk Podcast Launches Feb. 9 with 2018 State of the Park District Series.
Next Article:Hoffman Estates Park District earns Certificate of Achievement.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |