Printer Friendly

Philippines : 40 WV campus journalists are IWAG Awardees.

A total of 40 campus journalists from various schools in Western Visayas qualified as recipients of the IWAG Award 2019 by the Philippine Information Agency (PIA)-6.

Jaime S. Cabag, Jr., PIA-6 OIC Regional Head, said that the IWAG Award is an incentive scheme designed by PIA-6 to give recognition to graduating campus paper editors and writers who excel in development communication and related fields, including academic performance.

Since 1977, the Philippine Information Agency has cited students for promoting national development through the campus publications, he said.

Cabag said that each campus publication is entitled to send only one nominee who has passed the schools selection committee, while the IWAG Awardee Evaluation Committee of PIA-6 determined the final IWAG awardees.

The evaluation criteria for the award include development communication articles published in their respective school paper, academic and scholastic achievements, communication work experience and training, and involvement in school and community activities.

The IWAG Awardees from Aklan are Jessy Anne Louise T. Belinario of Aklan Catholic College; Alec Julian A. Templonuevo and Hazel Anne V. Cipriano, both from Regional Science High School for Region VI; Angelee L. Morandante and Jed Nykolle B. Harme from Linabuan National High School, Rhea Grace T. Custodio of Makato Integrated School; and Mary Sol Frances C. Quitong of Garcia College of Technology.

For Antique, the recipients are Donnabel D. Banusing of the University of Antique; Joseph Nicole T. Hiosa and William Harry M. Diana of Antique National School; and Charlene Mae Luces of Antique Vocational School.

Awardees from Capiz are Lara Karla L. Endaya from Filamer Christian University; Hosanna Mae R. Astrolabio of Capiz State University-Main Campus; Ruchell B. Roy of Hercor College; Melvin A. Villarez of Capiz State University- Pontevedra; Clint M. Bellosillo and Joanne Wayne S. Horneja, both from Capiz National High School; Neil Justin D. Fincal of the Basic Education Department of Hercor College Inc.; Princess Nicole S. Alivar of Mayor Ramon A. Benjamin Sr. National High School; and Elmer Christian Lamayo of David Moises Memorial High School.

Seven students from Iloilo are also recipients of the award namely: RJ Junsay from the University of San Agustin; Gilda A. Rodinas from John B. Lacson Foundation Maritime University- Molo; Ma. Rinia S. Baldoza of West Visayas State University (WVSU)-College of Education; April Grace R. Padilla of WVSU- College of Communication; Leodel T. Barrio of WVSU-College of Medicine; Amy Ross N. Gamarcha of Iloilo Science and Technology-University; and Ray Angelo C. Jagna-an of Pavia National High School.

The awardees from Negros Occidental are Kaye Eunice Lamera of University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos (UNO-R); Kristelle Janne P. Sa-onoy of VMA Global College; Joshua Martin P. Guanco of University of St. La Salle (USLS); Jude Lourence G. Segovia of La Consolacion College Bacolod; Leah Angela Cioco of St. Johns Institute Bacolod; Janieross A. Lamboso of UNO-R-Senior High School; Josh Aldrich B. Diola and Perlyn Joy L. Suganob, both from Sum-ag National High School; Cristopher John R. Salla of Colegio San Agustin-Bacolod; Chikki U. Villanueva of STI West Negros University; Sophia Lyn Elnar and Lance Nicoudemus D. Tionko from USLS-Liceo de La Salle; and Hazel Lorraine G. Herida of UNO-R Junior High School.

[c] 2019 Al Bawaba ( Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).
COPYRIGHT 2019 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Mena Report
Geographic Code:9PHIL
Date:Mar 13, 2019
Previous Article:Czech Republic : As part of celebrating 20 years of NATO accession, soldiers on Hrad?any Square exhibited contemporary technology.
Next Article:Czech Republic : Czech, Polish and US soldiers discussed Afghanistan.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters