Printer Friendly

Padwe to succeed Skadden as AICPA vice president-tax.

Gerald W. Padwe, CPA, was named vice-president-taxation of the AICPA, succeeding Donald H. Skadden, who retires on July 1.

Padwe is associate national tax director-professional and practice and a member of the Washington national tax group of Deloitte & Touche.

As the top staff officer of the AICPA's 24,000-member tax division, Padwe will lead the Institute's efforts in the tax area--currently striving for tax simplification--and will head a staff of two directors and nine technical managers at the AICPA Washington office.

Padwe was a member of the Internal Revenue Service Commissioner's Advisory Group in 1985-86. In recent years, he was a member of the AICPA federal taxation executive committee, chairman of the committees on tax policy and planning and on tax legislative liaison as well as chairman of a policy committee and task force on tax system restructuring.

Skadden became the AICPA's first vice-president-taxation in 1987, after a distinguished academic career at the Universities of Michigan and Illinois. Under his leadership, the AICPA greatly improved its working relationships with the IRS and the tax-writing committees of Congress. He also led the effort to organize members interested in tax matters into a new and effective division within the AICPA and to expand staff and services to meet the needs of the new tax division membership.

Skadden also served as a member of the Commissioner's Advisory Group.
COPYRIGHT 1992 American Institute of CPA's
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1992, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Gerald W. Padwe, Donald H. Skadden, AMerican Institute of Certified Public Accountants
Publication:Journal of Accountancy
Article Type:Brief Article
Date:Jun 1, 1992
Previous Article:Netterville nominated as AICPA chairman.
Next Article:Software revenue recognition.

Related Articles
Shenkir new president of AACSB.
Estimated tax rules opposed by AICPA.
Nonfiler program: CPAs may be targeted.
Subchapter S reform at hand?
S corporation reform bill introduced in Senate.
Tax Executive Committee participates in annual meeting with IRS Commissioner Richardson.
Congress takes aim at "aggresive" tax planning.
Ochsenschlager chosen to Head Tax Division.
In memoriam: Donald Skadden 1925-2005.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters