Printer Friendly


The 1114th General Meeting of the Academy was held on Tuesday, December 12, 2017, at 1:00 p.m., Dr. Hiroshi SHIONO, President, taking the chair. Ninety-one members were present, and the following communications were made:

On the aesthetic sense of "sukima" (openings) Jun KUBOTA, M.J.A.

Les traits caracteristiques des idees revisionnistes constitutionnelles dans les annees 2010 Yoichi HIGUCHI, M.J.A.

Particle Physics and I Toshihide MASKAWA, M.J.A.

A new arena in cardiac surgery: Pediatric coronary artery bypass surgery Soichiro KITAMURA

Communicated by Tadamitsu KISHIMOTO, M.J.A.

Agricultural aspects of radiocontamination induced by the Fukushima nuclear accident--A survey of studies by the Univ. of Tokyo Agricultural Dept. (2011-2016) Tomoko M. NAKANISHI

Communicated by Toshimitsu YAMAZAKI, M.J.A.

Negative regulation of B cell responses and self-tolerance to RNA-related lupus self-antigen Takeshi TSUBATA

Communicated by Shizuo AKIRA, M.J.A.

Chemical characteristics of hadal waters in the Izu-Ogasawara Trench of the western Pacific Ocean Toshitaka GAMO and Kiminori SHITASHIMA

Communicated by Eitaro WADA, M.J.A.

The local zeta integrals for GL(2, C) x GL(2; C) Tadashi MIYAZAKI

Communicated by Shigefumi MORI, M.J.A.

SVV algebras Ruari Donald WALKER

Communicated by Masaki KASHIWARA, M.J.A.

After a recess during which the members present met in their respective Sections, the General Meeting was resumed for business transactions.

First, the President announced that Dr. Keiji MOROKUMA, M.J.A., had passed away on November 27, 2017 and Dr. Koya MATSUO, M.J.A., on December 1, 2017; the members expressed their profound sense of grief in silence.

Second, Dr. Masaaki KUBO, M.J.A., paid a tribute of admiration to the late Dr. Eijiro IWASAKI's meritorious service to academic circles.

Third, the Chairpersons of both Sections made reports of the matters dealt with at the respective Sectional Meetings.

Then, the recommendations of both sections for the new membership of the Academy, were accepted unanimously. The new members elected are:

Section I: Takashi IBI (Japanese Literature), Hiroshi WATANABE (History of Japanese Political Thought), Nobuhisa SEGAWA (Civil Law).

Section II: Takeshi YASUMOTO (Fisheries Chemistry), Kohei MIYAZONO (Molecular Pathology, Oncology).

The Meeting adjourned at 4:35 p.m.

COPYRIGHT 2018 The Japan Academy
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Japan Academy Proceedings Series A: Mathematical Sciences
Article Type:Calendar
Date:Jan 1, 2018
Previous Article:Proceedings at the 1112th General Meeting.
Next Article:The local zeta integrals for GL(2, C)x GL(2, C).

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |