Printer Friendly

PML-N wins all from Gojra, loses PA seat in Toba tehsil.

Byline: Tariq Saeed

TOBA TEK SINGH -- The PML-N won all three seats of Gojra tehsil, including a National Assembly (NA) and two provincial assembly (PA) seats, however the party lost a provincial seat and won one national and provincial assembly seat each in Toba tehsil.

The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) swept the election in Kamalia and Pirmahal tehsils, winning all three, one NA and both PA seats.

PML-N's Khalid Javed Warraich created a record in the district by simultaneously winning from NA-111 Gojra and PP-118. He told reporters that he will retain his NA seat only. He added that the decision to field a candidate for by-election on his PA seat would be taken by party Quaid Nawaz Sharif or President Shahbaz Sharif.

Khalid Javed secured 110,555 and defeated PTI's Osama Hamza (son of PML-N former senator M Hamza), who bagged 85,440 votes. Javed's elder brother, former MNA Amjad Ali Warraich, polled third in this constituency. In PP-118, he defeated PTI's Asad Zaman Cheema with a margin of just 448 votes. His younger brother, former MPA Bilal Asghar Warraich, got the third highest votes.

Former PPP Punjab minister Haji Muhammad Ishaq also contested from two seats: NA-111 and PP-119, but bagged only 2,402 votes in NA-111 and 4,771 in PP-119. Tehreek-i-Labbaik Pakistan's (TLP) Safdar Ali Wahla contested from NA-111 and PP-118 and emerged as the third biggest party scoring 8,830 votes in the NA constituency and 10,178 in PA.

For PP-119, which fell under NA-111, former MPA Abdul Qadeer Awan defeated PTI's Khalid Bashir - son of late PPP MNA Bashir Khan -- with a margin of over 16,000 votes. Here, TLP candidate Zulfiqar Ali bagged 7,270 votes.

It is thought that the PTI faced defeat in this constituency, as Ahsan Ihsan Gujjar (son of late MPA Ihsan Gujjar), who had applied for a PTI ticket but was refused, contested on a PML-N ticket and obtained more than 17,000 votes.

In NA-112 Toba, PML-N's Junaid Anwaar Chaudhry made a hat trick by winning third consecutive election on a PML-N ticket by defeating PTI's central vice president Chaudhry Muhammad Ashfaq. PPP's former provincial minister Neelum Jabbar Chaudhry could only get 2,402 votes, while TLP's Ajmal Siddique secured 3,628 votes.

In PP-120 of NA-112, PML-N's former Punjab minister retired Col Sardar Ayub Gadhi also achieved a hat trick by winning this seat for the third consecutive time by defeating PTI's retired Brig Javed Akram with the margin of over 16,000 votes. Here TLP's Mujahid Ramzan could get only 2,227 votes while PPP's Zafar Farooq polled only 1,157 votes.

In PP-121, PTI's Saeed Ahmad Saeedi defeated PML-N's former MPA Amjad Ali Javed with a margin of more than 5,000 votes. AWP's Zubair Chaudhry polled third with 4,500 votes, TLP's Younis Javed could only get 2,539 votes and PPP's Zulfiqar Ali Zulfi obtained just 1,250 votes.

In NA-113 Kamalia-Pirmahal, PTI's Riaz Fatyana defeated PML-N's Chaudhry Asadur Rehman Ramday with a lead of over 22,000 votes. TLP's Pir Ahmad Shahzad Shah got 8,074 votes, while PPP's Nasim Iqbal Kodha bagged only 1,655 votes.

In PP-122 that comes under NA-113, Fatyana's wife Ashfa - a former provincial minister -- defeated PML-N's former MPA Nazia Raheel Gujjar with a margin of over 18,000 votes. Nazia had been elected MPA twice from the same seat in 2008 and 2013. She was awarded a PTI ticket but returned it saying she never applied for it. Here, PPP's Chaudhry Zahoorul Haq obtained just 1,284 votes, while TLP's Pir Ahmad Shahzad bagged over 10,000 votes.

In PP-123 of NA-113, late MPA Makhdoom Ali Raza's daughter Sonia Ali defeated former MPA Pir Qutab Ali Baba (nephew of former prime minister Yousaf Raza Gilani) with a lead of just 40 votes. Former MPA Liaquat Ali Shaukat and former PPP ticket-holder from same constituency Asad Abbas Shah had withdrawn their candidature in favour of Sonia that greatly helped her in winning the seat. TLP's Muhammad Akram got only 1,114 votes and PPP's Muhammad Arif 309.

Even though PTI's candidate Chaudhry Ashfaq lost NA-112, his son-in-law Chaudhry Asim Nazir set a record by winning his fourth consecutive election from an NA seat in Faisalabad as an independent candidate. Nazir got 147,812 votes to defeat his opponent, who polled 67,237 votes. This is the highest victory margin for an independent candidate in these elections in Faisalabad division.
COPYRIGHT 2018 Asianet-Pakistan
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Dawn (Karachi, Pakistan)
Geographic Code:9PAKI
Date:Jul 28, 2018
Previous Article:Elections see comeback of Nawabzadas, exit of Khar and Dasti.
Next Article:Lift irrigation pumps for arid zone farmers.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters