Printer Friendly



CCR Technologies Ltd., Calgary, AB, is pleased to announce the following executive appointments: Robert L. Gillies becomes vice president, finance; Stephen C. Canter and James L. Jenkins have been named business development managers; and Kerry van Son accepted the position of deepwater technology manager.

Arv Hardin, MCIC, of Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, was appointed manager, strategic business planning for the Polyolefins SBU of Saudi Basic Industries Corporation. For the past six years, he was a research advisor/research management consultant at the Sabic R&T Complex in Diyadh. His responsibilities included research management systems, laboratory quality management programs, and technology strategy development.

Marvin Wiens has been elected to the position of president and chairman of the Board at the Saskatchewan Wheat Pool, Regina, SK.


Stella Constas, of the department of chemistry, and Jeff Hutter, of the department of physics and astronomy, have been elected to the Centre for Interdisciplinary Studies in Chemical Physics at the University of Western Ontario, London, ON.

Chris Kendall, MCIC is a PhD student in the department of chemistry at the University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA.


Jody Ciufo has been appointed government relations officer at the Canadian Council of Professional Engineers, Ottawa, ON.


Paul W. Brumer, FCIC, professor of chemistry at the University of Toronto, Toronto, ON, has-received one of four 2000 Killam Prizes. The Killam Prizes are Canada's most distinguished annual awards given in recognition of outstanding career achievements in the natural sciences, health sciences, and engineering. Brumer was recognized for his contributions to the area of theoretical chemical physics.

Andre Charette, FCIC, of the department of applied science at the University of Montreal, Montreal, QC, has received an NSERC Steacie Fellowship. The award includes a payment to the university of $180,000, over two years, to allow Charette to pursue his research on a full-time basis. Charette is known internationally for his finding shortcuts in the synthesis of complex, biologically active molecules. He is also the 1998 recipient of the AstraZeneca RFP.

Aminmohamed K. Hirji, MCIC, faculty advisor, Southern Alberta Institute of Technology, Calgary, AB, has received the Ralph T. Scurfield Award for Teaching Excellence for 2000. He received this recognition in 1998 as well.

Keith Marchildon, FCIC, senior research fellow, Nylon at DuPont Canada Inc., Kingston, ON, has been named a DuPont Fellow. Fellows are selected for their career-long history of major contributions to DuPont businesses. Marchildon joined DuPont in 1964 and his main work has been in the field of nylon polymerization, where his experiments and theoretical treatment have significantly expanded DuPont's ability to design and operate its nylon processes. He recently designed a new manufacturing process for nylon, which reduces production costs, energy consumption, and environmental emissions, as well as improving product quality and process robustness.

Louis Ramaley, FCIC, received the Faculty of Science Award of Excellence in Teaching at Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS during the May convocation exercises. This award celebrates Ramaley's commitment to excellence which has resulted in Dalhousie having a strong analytical chemistry program.
COPYRIGHT 2000 Chemical Institute of Canada
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2000 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Canadian Chemical News
Date:Jun 1, 2000
Previous Article:Chemical Education Trust Fund: Keeping the Spirit of Chemistry Alive and Well.
Next Article:Obituaries.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters