Printer Friendly

Our Alumni Our Ambassadors - Mehran University Alumni Association organizes annual reunion.

Mehran University Jamshoro's main campus came to life when old mates met each other at the annual alumni dinner, general body meeting, oath-taking ceremony, MUAA Excellence Awards and musical night held by Mehran University Alumni Association (MUAA) at main Auditorium of the University. The Alumni Community showed an overwhelming response to the event, with the participation of over 600 professional engineers viz-as-viz seniors and youngsters as everyone wanted to experience an opportunity to meet their friends and colleagues.

The event commenced with guests arriving at the venue at around 7 pm. Syed Mumtaz Ali Shah, Chief Secretary, Government of Sindh honored the event as chief guest and Ms. Sultana Siddiqui, CEO of HUM TV graced the occasion as a guest of honor.

The event excelled further with the Award Ceremony, to recognize and honor with MUAA Excellence award to its alumni, who are renowned as high achievers in academia and industry having distinguished achievements. Though they have graduated their legacy still pays for MUET.

There were three distinctions among "MUAA Excellence Awards", practicing engineers, non - practicing engineers and the academicians. On this occasion founder President and Patron MUAA Engr. Shafiq Hyder Musavi announced the names of recipients of MUAA Excellence Awards and Prof. Dr. Bhawani Shankar Chowdhry, founder General Secretary MUAA and Professor Emeritus read the profiles of recipients of MUAA Excellence Awards in the category of Academia The award recipients include Engr. Syed Abdul Qadir Shah (Former Chairman PEC), Engr. Syed Raghib Abbas Shah (Former Chairman WAPDA), Engr. Sayed Momin Ali Shah, Engr. Nisar Ahmed Memon, Engr. Muhammad AyoobJunejo, Engr. Rubina Noor Shaikh, Engr. Shahnila Qureshi, Engr. AbhimanMulani, Engr. Khair Muhammad Kolachi, Engr. AmanullahTalpur, Engr. Abdul Salam Memon, Engr. Ghulam Ali Khaskali.

In the category of nonpracticing engineers recipients include Engr. Naeem Ahmed Shaikh (DIG Police), Engr. Abdul Majid Yousfani (Member, BOR, GOS), Engr. Fida Hussain Mastoi (DIG Police), Engr. Dr. Muhammad Ali Shah (Renowned Academician), Engr. Shunaid Qureshi (Industrialist). It is well said 'teachers play an important role student's life' because they contribute as building blocks, it was an honor to be recognized for few best teachers who achieved distinction in their academic fields.

The recipients for academicians awards include Engr.Dr. Samreen Hussain (Vice-Chancellor Begum Nusrat Bhutto University), Engr. Dr. Mansoor Zafar Dawood (Vice-Chancellor ILMA University), Engr. Dr. Zubair Ahmed Shaikh (Vice-Chancellor Muhammad Ali Jinnah University), Engr. Dr. Sabeen Qureshi, Engr. Dr. Zaheer Ahmed Almani, Engr. Dr. Faheem YarKhawar. This was followed by a speech by Vice Chancellor Prof. Dr. Muhammad Aslam Uqaili. He welcomed all the alumni, especially the Chief Guest Mr. Mumtaz Ali Shah Chief Secretary Sindh. Addressing the alumni, the worthy Vice chancellor stated, 'Your presence here and contribution in the most prominent fields in the corporate world is proof of the living legacy of MUET.' Speaking about how the Alumni can contribute to MUET, Mr. Prof. Dr. M. A. Uqaili said the Alumni can donate their time, money and energy to MUET even they can mentor and teach students; and they can give preference in Job recruitment and at any other success leading platform.

In this regard, MUET has established Alumni development Cell in the University. Chief guest Mr. Mumtaz Ali Shah congratulated worthy Vice Chancellor, Alumni office bearers and award recipients. He said MUET graduates have been serving in nation-building tasks that's why Mehran University is one of the best universities in Pakistan. He also said he will ask the Sindh government for the building girls hostels in Mehran University of Engineering and Technology Jamshoro. The ceremony concluded with a cultural and music program.
COPYRIGHT 2020 Knowledge Bylanes
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2020 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Pakistan Engineering Review
Date:Jan 24, 2020
Previous Article:Why Are We Here?
Next Article:Sir Syed University of Engineering and Technology Celebrates its Silver Jubilee.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters