Printer Friendly

Osborn to receive Kate Barnard Award.

Byline: Journal Record Staff

OKLAHOMA CITY The Oklahoma Commission on the Status of Women will present the Kate Barnard Award to state Labor Commissioner Leslie Osborn.

The annual Kate Barnard Award Ceremony and Luncheon will be held in the Grand Room of the Oklahoma Judicial Center at 2100 N. Lincoln Blvd. at 11:30 a.m. Feb. 28.

OCSW established the annual Kate Barnard Award in 1998 to honor outstanding women in public service whose leadership has benefited Oklahoma women and families. Nominees are from the ranks of elected or appointed salaried public officials in Oklahoma.

As the Oklahoma House representative for District 47 for 10 years, Osborn was the first female to chair the Judiciary Committee and was named the first Republican female chair of the House Appropriations and Budget Committee. In 2018, she was elected as commissioner of the Oklahoma Department of Labor.

Osborn has served as the State Chairman of the National Federation of Women Legislators and has also been awarded the Guardian of Small Business Award from the National Federation of Independent Businesses. She has been honored with the Legislator of the Year Award from multiple entities including the District Attorneys Council, Oklahoma Farm Bureau, State Chamber of Oklahoma, Freedom Oklahoma, Oklahoma Association for Justice, Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigations, Oklahoma Credit Union Association, State Sheriff's Association, State Fire Marshall's Office and the State Association of Conservation Districts.

Before serving in state government, Osborn owned and operated Osborn Pick-Up Accessories for 22 years that sold heavy-duty truck parts. She was a member of Leadership Oklahoma Class 27 and served as the state director of the national group, Women in Government. She has a bachelor's degree in business administration from Oklahoma State University.

Sponsors of the 2019 Kate Barnard Award ceremony are Amy Consulting, Jones PR and Linda James Farley.

In 1907, Kate Barnard, a native of Oklahoma, became the first woman to win a statewide elected office in the United States. She held the office of commissioner of charities and corrections for two terms.

Copyright {c} 2019 BridgeTower Media. All Rights Reserved.

COPYRIGHT 2019 Dolan Media
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Journal Record (Oklahoma City, OK)
Geographic Code:1U7OK
Date:Feb 14, 2019
Previous Article:Conference to focus on opioid crisis.
Next Article:Committee passes $1,200 teacher pay raise measure.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters