Printer Friendly

Omkaram Nalamasu named recipient of 2004 Roy W. Tess Award.

The officers and the Award Committee of the Division of Polymeric Materials. Science and Engineering (PMSE) of the American Chemical Society have bestowed the Roy W. Tess Award in Coatings upon Omkaram Nalamasu, of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Prof. Nalamasu is the director of the Center for Integrated Electronics, professor of Materials Science and Engineering and Chemistry departments at the Institute. The Tess Award will be presented by Dr. A. Jay Dias, chair of the PMSE Division, to Prof. Nalamasu, in recognition of his outstanding contributions to coatings science and technology, at the 228th meeting of the ACS on August 23, 2004 in Philadelphia, PA.


Prof. Nalamasu is recognized as one of the world's leading experts in the areas of optical lithography and polymeric materials science and technology. His pioneering contributions to optical lithography and photoresist materials have played a major role in enabling the microelectronics revolution. He developed key concepts related to the chemically amplified photoresist process, novel resist materials and processes and has applied his research to the implementation of both 248 nm and more recently 193 nm photoresist technologies.

Prof. Nalamasu has published over 170 papers and has received 14 patents. He has also organized and presented several invited and plenary talks at national and international conferences, including an invited presentation to the National Academy of Engineering's Fourth Annual Symposium on the Frontier of Engineering in 1998.

In addition to his scientific contributions, Prof. Nalamasu founded the New Jersey Nanotechnology Consortium, Inc, a public-private enterprise that brings together New Jersey universities, industry, and government to conduct pre-competitive research, spur economic development, and train next generation nanotechnology researchers. He continues his service as the consortrum's chief technical officer.

Prof. Nalamasu has received numerous awards and grants, and most recently, he received the NYSTAR Distinguished Professor Award along with a $1 million research grant. He is a member of the ACS, SPIE, OSA, and IEEE, in addition to being a member of several microelectronics and nanotechnology decision-making groups.

After receiving a B.S. in Chemistry and Biology from Osmania University, India, and an M.S. in Chemistry from the University of Hyderabad, India, Prof. Nalamasu earned his Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of British Columbia, Canada. Currently Prof. Nalamasu heads the Center for Integrated Electronics (CIE), Rensselaer's largest research center with over $9 million in research funding, 60 faculty, more than 100 graduate students and post-doctoral fellows.
COPYRIGHT 2004 Federation of Societies for Coatings Technology
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2004, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Business & Industry
Publication:JCT CoatingsTech
Date:Mar 1, 2004
Previous Article:New members.
Next Article:PMSE selects three for the fellow class of 2004.

Related Articles
Ray A. Dickie, editor of JCT CoatingsTech and JCT Research, receives two prestigious industry awards.
FSCT hosts spring VLC on Mechanical Properties of Coatings.
Ray A. Dickie, JCT editor, to receive 2004 FSCT George Baugh Heckel Award.
PMSE seeks nominations for 2005 Tess Award.
Rose Ryntz.
Ray A. Dickie, JCT editor, to receive 2004 FSCT George Baugh Heckel Award.
2003 Roy W. Tess Award.
Nominations sought for 2006 Tess Award.
Jonathan W. Martin to receive 2006 Roy W. Tess Award.
Nominations for 2007 Tess Award are sought.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |