Printer Friendly

Omar Associates condemn SNGPL to second loss.

KARACHI -- Omar Associates displayed a superb all-round play to hand reigning champions Sui Northern Gas Pipelines (SNGPL) a 38-run defeat in the Naya Nazimabad Ramazan Cup T20 cricket tournament at the Lawai Cricket Stadium on Wednesday night.

The architect of Omar Associates' grand success was slow left-armer Asif Ali, who snared four wickets for 29 runs in four overs as, SNGPL ended up totalling 157-9 after being set a target of 196 in this Group 'B' fixture.

After two straight losses the holders having lost their opening game to National Bank of Pakistan SNGPL are now looking at other results going their way if they aspired to make the knockout stage.

Omar Associates, batting first, collected 195 for the loss of eight wickets in 20 overs with skipper Saad Nasim led from the front by scoring an aggressive 50 off 31 balls, while hoisting four sixes and two boundaries. Khushdil Shah cracked a 19-ball 40 with four boundaries and two sixes.

Opening the innings Umar Akmal struck fours fours and two sixes in his 43 off 32 balls.

SNGPL lost openers Asad Ali (11) and Taimyr Sultan (25) with total on 41. However, skipper Mohammad Rizwan and Hussain Talat added 61 for the third wicket.

Rizwan went after making 33-ball 44 with five fours and one six and Talat made 31 from 22 balls with the aid of three fours and one six.

Batsman Asif Ali, who rose to fame in Pakistan Super League final at National Stadium while steering Islamabad United victory with three massive sixes, smashed 26 in a 15-ball studded with two boundaries and one six. But he was bowled by his namesake Asif thus ending his team's chances of victory.

Spinner Asif got good support from Muhammad Asghar and Muhammad Asghar claiming two wickets each.

Summarised scores:

OMAR ASSOCIATES 195-8 in 20 overs (Saad Nasim 50, Umar Akmal 43, Khushdil Shah 40, Sami-ur-Rehman 21, Usman Khan 15); SNGPL 157-9 in 20 overs (Mohammad Rizwan 44, Hussain Talat 31, Asif Ali 26, Taimur Sultan 25, Asif Ali 4-29, Mohammad Asghar 2-30, Mohammad Irfan 2-36).

COPYRIGHT 2018 Asianet-Pakistan
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Dawn (Karachi, Pakistan)
Date:May 25, 2018
Previous Article:Asad stars as Tapal CC win again.
Next Article:PTI's four lawmakers, three councillors acquitted in rioting case.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters