Printer Friendly

Officers elected, awards presented at AAA meeting.


John K. Simmons of the University of Florida was elected the 1989-90 president of the American Accounting Association at the 74th annual meeting, held in Honolulu, Hawaii.

He succeeds Gerhard G. Mueller of the University of Washington, who remains on the AAA executive committee as immediate past president. Others on the 1989-90 executive committee are Alvin A. Arens of Michigan State University, president-elect; Wanda A. Wallace of Texas A&M University, D. Gerald Searfoss of Touche Ross & Co., and Robert E. Jensen of Trinity University, all vice-presidents. Also serving are Corine T. Norgaard of the University of Connecticut, director of education; Shyam Sunder of Carnegie--Mellon University, director of research; Joseph J. Schultz, Jr., of Arizona State University, secretary--treasurer; and Daniel W. Collins of the University of Iowa, director of publications.

At a luncheon, William R. Kinney, Jr., of the University of Texas at Austin, and Robert N. Anthony, Harvard University (emeritus), received the 1989 AAA Outstanding Accounting Educator Award.

The joint AAA-American Institute of CPAs 22nd annual award for notable contributions to accounting literature went to Mark A. Wolfson, Joseph McDonald Professor of Accounting at Stanford University, for "Empirical Evidence of Incentive Problems and Their Mitigation in Oil and Gas Tax Shelter Programs" in Principals and Agents: The Structure of Business, published by the Harvard Business School Press in 1985.

The Competitive Manuscript Award went to John R. M. Hand of the University of Chicago for "A Test of the Extended Functional Fixation Hypotheses" and Siva Swaminathan of Michigan State University for "Impact of SEC Mandated Segment Data on Price Variability Divergence of Beliefs."

The Seminal Contribution to Accounting Literature Award was presented to William H. Beaver of Stanford University for "Information Content of Annual Earnings Announcements," Empirical Research in Accounting: Selected Studies 1968, supplement to the Journal of Accounting Research.

The Report of the National Commission on Fradulent Financial Reporting (the Treadway commission report) won the Wildman Award. Hugh L. Marsh, director of internal audit of the Aluminum Company of America when he served as a member of the Treadway commission, was given the award on behalf of the commission. Funded by the Deloitte Haskins & Sells Foundation, the award commemorates the centenary of the birth of John R. Wildman, a partner of the firm and the first president of the AAA's predecessor.

At a breakfast session, Yuji Ijiri of Carnegie-Mellon University was inducted into Ohio State University's Accounting Hall of Fame. [Exhibit 1 Omitted]
COPYRIGHT 1989 American Institute of CPA's
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1989, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Journal of Accountancy
Date:Dec 1, 1989
Previous Article:AAA establishes Accounting Education Change Commission.
Next Article:1990 accounting salaries.

Related Articles
AAA establishes Accounting Education Change Commission.
Cellular, Molecular and Developmental Biology.
Agriculture and Plant Science.
Rubber Division elects officers.
Agriculture and Plant Science. (Divisional Reports).
Los Angeles Chapter hosts Annual Tax Administrators' Night; makes plans for year.
Annual meeting.
Upcoming events.
Music Teachers National Association: annual meeting minutes.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters