Printer Friendly

Officer's leadership rewarded.

VICTORIA, B.C. -- A member of Batchewana First Nation, Chief Petty Officer Debbi Eisan of the Canadian Forces Recruiting Centre in Halifax, N.S., is the recipient of this year's Aboriginal Women in Leadership Distinction Award.

Eisan, who was born in Sault Ste. Marie, began her career with the Canadian Forces in 1975.

Her roles have included service as a supply technician, buyer of aircraft parts, and leader of a close-out operation of the United Nations base in Rwanda. For five years she was posted to the HMCS Iroquois in Halifax.

She has travelled extensively with NATO on sea exercises in Europe, the Eastern United States and recently the Middle East.

At present, Eisen is the national diversity recruiting officer at the Canadian Forces Recruiting Centre Atlantic.

Her volunteer service has included acting as a liaison between the company of the HMCS Iroquois and the Mi'kmaq community of Eastern Canada. She has also been a volunteer with Girl Guides of Canada, United Way and Halifax Search and Rescue.

The Women in Leadership Distinction Award recognizes Aboriginal women's achievements, creativity, vision and leadership in their jobs or communities, and it recognizes women who act as role models or mentors for men, women and youth.

Awards are presented for achieving excellence in the categories of leadership, education and training, arts and culture, business, health and wellness, environment, science, entertainment and political governance.

Eisan is being recognized for mentoring many Aboriginal people through Canadian Forces recruiting and training and helping to establish trust relationships between the Forces and Aboriginal people.

Lt. Thomas Nickle of the Canadian Forces Recruiting Centre in Halifax nominated Eisan for the award.

He said Eisan "has been instrumental in increasing knowledge of the Aboriginal people, their history and culture to many within the Canadian Forces recruiting organization, CFB Halifax and the Canadian Forces in general."

Eisan will receive her award during the fifth annual National Aboriginal Women in Leadership Training Conference hosted by First Nations Training & Consulting Services in Vancouver, B.C. Oct. 21 to 23.

Past recipients of the Aboriginal Women in Leadership Distinction Award include Inuit singer Susan Aglukark in the category of Music and Entertainment; Minister of State for Indian Affairs and Northern Development Ethel Blondin-Andrew, for Political Leadership and Children's Issues; Professor Verna J. Kirkness, for Education and Leadership; and Bea Shawanda for Culture, Health and Wellness.
COPYRIGHT 2004 Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta (AMMSA)
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2004 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:SHORT SUBJECTS
Publication:Ontario Birchbark
Date:Oct 1, 2004
Previous Article:Native firefighters recognized for long service.
Next Article:University expands.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters