Printer Friendly

Office of the deputy assistant secretary of the navy for safety (Aug. 22, 2008): 2008 don safety excellence award recipients announced.

WASHINGTON -- Secretary of the Navy, Donald C. Winter announced Aug. 19 the 2008 Department of the Navy's (DoN) Safety Excellence Award winners.

"Your integration of 'mission first, safety always' into your commands' culture was superlative during [fiscal year] 2007, and you have justly earned the right to fly my safety flag through the next year," said Winter in his message that announced the recipients.

The 18 winners are: Pearl Harbor Naval Shipyard and Intermediate Maintenance Facility: Commander, Fleet Activities Okinawa; USS Enterprise (CVN 65) with Carrier Air Wing 1; USS Lake Erie (CG 70); USS Rushmore (LSD 47); MCM Crew Persistent; USS Columbus (SSN 762); Marine Corps Air Station New River; Ist Marine Aircraft Wing; Marine Corps Logistics Base Albany; Marine Light Attack Helicopter Squadron 269; Helicopter Anti-Submarine Squadron Light 42: Fleet Logistics Squadron 56; Marine Light Attack Helicopter Squadron 773; Training Squadron 31; USNS Lewis and Clark (T-AKE 1); and the Submarine Rescue Diving and Recompression System Team, Advanced Undersea Systems Program Office (PMS 394).


All recipients are presented with the Secretary of the Navy's distinctive white-and-green safety flag, which they are entitled to fly for one year.

This was the second consecutive year the Submarine Rescue Diving and Recompression System Team has received the award. It's the first time that a command has won in two different categories. Marine Light Attack Squadron 269 is the recipient in both aviation and ground safety.

This year's award categories include safety ashore, safety shipboard, Marine Corps ground safety, aviation safety, Military Sealift Command safety, and safety in the field of acquisition.

The secretary of the Navy also announced that Naval Air Station Key West and Marine Corps Logistics Base) Bar-stow have earned "star" level of safety excellence from the Occupational Safety and Health Administration's Voluntary Protection Program. Star is OSHA's highest level of safety achievement. MCLB Barstow is the first Marine Corps command to earn its star. The commands will receive a special plaque at the awards ceremony.

There are only seven commands DoN-wide that have reached Voluntary Protection Program star status.

The Department of the Navy Safety Excellence Awards were established in 2002 by [Deputy Secretary of Defense] Gordon R, England to personally recognize Navy and Marine Corps commands that demonstrate extraordinary excellence by sustained mission success with simultaneous exemplary safety performance.

For more news from the Naval Safety Center, visit <>.
COPYRIGHT 2008 Defense Acquisition University Press
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2008 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Acquisition & Logistics Excellence
Publication:Defense AT & L
Article Type:Awards list
Date:Nov 1, 2008
Previous Article:Navy newsstand (Aug. 22, 2008): NSWC Crane saves $970k for NAVSEA small Arms office.
Next Article:Air force print news (Aug. 25, 2008): Wright-Patterson unit wins Defense Secretary Logistics Award.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |