Printer Friendly

Nomination results for upcoming Metis election mixed.

The once put off election for the Provincial Metis Council for the Metis Nation-Saskatchewan has yielded mixed results for nominations.

While choices for the executive positions are healthy - including six vying for the title of president including incumbent Robert Doucette - out of 12 regions, only five are holding elections. Two regions had no nominations filed, while five others saw nominees awarded the regional director's position by acclamation.

"In the democratic process, it's always nice to have a choice," said Ian Craven, chief electoral officer and partner with MNP-LLP.

Doucette, who has held the position of president for the past five years, will be heading to the polls against Maureen Belanger, Raymond Laliberte, Bryan Lee, Wayne McKenzie, and Mavis Taylor. Taylor recently held the position of director for Western Region 1, while Lee was president of Local 108 Fish Lake.

The position of vice president is being sought by three new candidates upon the retirement of Alan Morin. Vying for the position are Darren Deschambeault (Prince Albert), Dale McAuley (Cumberland House) and Gerald Morin (Saskatoon).

Incumbent Max Morin is fighting against three others for one position of secretary: May Henderson (Saskatoon), Roxanne Kennedy (North Battleford) and Tammy Mah (Prince Albert).

For treasurer, Louis Gardiner is attempting to keep his position against Guy Bouvier (Meadow Lake) and Morley Norton (Regina).

In by acclamation are incumbents Lennard Morin (Eastern Region 1), Helene Johnson (Eastern Region 2), and Billy Kennedy (Western Region 1A). Also in by acclamation as new directors are Chester J. Herman for Northern Region 2 and Lela Arnold in Western Region 3.

"Being acclaimed is not necessarily a bad thing," said Craven. "It could be that they're doing a really exemplary job."

The only regional director election that involves an incumbent is taking place in Western Region 2, where Darlene McKay is attempting to hold on to her position against Janice Henry; both women are from Prince Albert. In Eastern Region 2A, Patricia Bigstone and Derek Langan, both from Yorkton, are running. In Northern Region 3, candidates are Glen Hector McCallum (Pinehouse Lake) and Ric Richardson (Green Lake). The candidates for Western Region 1 all hail from Meadow Lake: Michael Bell, Wally Chatelaine and Henry (Guy) Tourond. In Western Region 2A, Penny Hurton (Saskatoon) and Wayne Whitford (Biggar) are the candidates.

No nominations were received for Eastern Region 3 and Northern Region 1.

MN-S by-laws call for by-elections to take place after the general election to fill those still-vacant seats, says Craven.

The election will be held Sept. 8. Advanced polling took place Sept. 1. All Metis citizens, 16 years and older and residing in Saskatchewan, are eligible to vote.

The past five years for the MN-S has been plagued by dissension among members of the Provincial Metis Council, resulting in lack of quorum at many meetings and the inability to make decisions. The lack of cohesion was never more prominent than when the original May 30, 2012 election date was set aside by a judge after legal action was taken by MN-S members Bob McLeod and Ron Lamabe. McLeod served as director for Western Region 2A.


Sage Contributing Editor


COPYRIGHT 2012 Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta (AMMSA)
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Author:Narine, Shari
Publication:Saskatechewan Sage
Geographic Code:1CSAS
Date:Sep 1, 2012
Previous Article:Grassroots opposition continues against nuclear waste storage.
Next Article:Partnerships provide innovative approach to health care.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |