Printer Friendly

Nin, Anais.

Nin, Anais

(1903 - 1977) French - born American novelist and diarist. Although she had written over a dozen books, Nin was not widely known until the publication of The Diary of Anais Nin 1931 - 1966 (7 vols. 1966 - 80). A record of avant - garde life in Paris and New York, with portraits of friends like Henry Miller and Lawrence Durrell, the diaries essentially chronicle a woman ' s coming to terms with her feminine identity. They served as the source of much of Nin's fiction, which shows the influences of surrealism and psychoanalysis. Her first novel, House of Incest (1936), is a prose poem dealing with psychological torments. The second, Winter of Artifice (1939), examines a daughter 's relationship to her father. The series Cities of the Interior includes Ladders to Fire (1946), Children of the Albatross (1947), The Four - Chambered Heart (1950), A Spy in the House of Love (1954), and Solar Barque (1958). Both in her fiction and her diaries, a dreamlike, sensuous prose expands personal concerns to a universal level. Nin's essays on literary theory include Realism and Reality (1946) and The Novel of the Future (1968). The Delta of Venus (1977) and Little Birds (1979) are books of erotica she wrote in the 1940s.

COPYRIGHT 1987 HarperCollins Publishers
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1987 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia, 3rd ed.
Article Type:Reference Source
Date:Jan 1, 1987
Previous Article:Nims, John Frederick.
Next Article:Nine.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |