Printer Friendly

Nigeria,United States : DR. NELSON M. OYESIKU is the new chairman of the American Board of Neurological Surgeons (ABNS).

The American Board of Neurological Surgeons (ABNS) gets Dr. Nelson M. Oyesiku as their new Chairman who is also the director of the Neurosurgery Residency Programme and member of the Association of Nigerian Physicians in Americas (ANPA)

Dr. Nelson M. Oyesiku, MD from Atlanta, Georgia as chairman; Dr. Mitchel S. Berger, MD from Salt Lake City, Utah as vice-chairman; Dr. Craig A. Van Der Veer, MD from Charlotte, North Carolina as Vice-Chairman; Dr. Fredric B. Meyer, MD from Rochester, Minnesota as Secretary; and Matthew A. Howard, III, MD from Iowa City, Iowa as Treasurer is list of new Executive Officers of ABNS.

Throughout North America 14 directors are selected from practising neurosurgeons in ABNS. Nominations from below societies is must before Director s election :American Association of Neurological Surgeons (4), Society of Neurological Surgeons (4), Congress of Neurological Surgeons (4), American Academy of Neurological Surgery (1), Neurosurgical Society of America (1). All director serves for a single six-year term. Appointments are staggered, and two to three new directors come on the Board each year.

The new chairman was born in Nigeria where he completed his graduation from St. Gregory s College and medical degree was received from the University of Ibadan. A Masters of Science degree was awarded to him when he attended the University of London, United Kingdom (UK) as a Commonwealth Scholar. Neurosurgical training was completed at Emory University, Atlanta. He also completed a PhD degree in neuroscience at Emory University studying the Role of Neurotrophic Factors in Neuronal Survival and Regeneration during his residency.

At present he is working as Professor of Neurological Surgery and Professor of Medicine (Endocrinology) at Emory University and was appointed to the neurosurgical faculty at Emory completion of his training.

He occupies the Al Lerner Chair in Neurosurgery and is Vice-Chairman, Department of Neurological Surgery and Director of the Neurosurgical Residency Program. He is Director of the Laboratory of Molecular Neurosurgery & Biotechnology. His clinical and research focus is the Surgical Treatment and Molecular Biology of Pituitary Tumours. He is recipient of an United States National Institute of Health (NIH) Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) Award and Medical Faculty Development Award from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and NIH RO1 award for the molecular imaging and targeting of pituitary tumours.

Oyesiku has served on the Executive Committee of the CNS, as Secretary/Treasurer and President of the Georgia Neurosurgical Society and been President of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons. He is a CNS delegate to the World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies. He is on the board of directors for the Federation for International Education in Neurosurgery.

2012 Al Bawaba (

Provided by an company
COPYRIGHT 2012 Al Bawaba (Middle East) Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Mena Report
Date:Sep 1, 2012
Previous Article:Nigeria : WEMA BANK names two executives to board.
Next Article:Nigeria : NIGERIA to introduce $1B Sovereign Wealth Fund.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters