Printer Friendly

Newbies shine in Batangas.

The Batangas Racing Circuit hosted the seventh leg of the 2015 GT Radial Flat Our Race Series last Sept. 12, making for furious battles among grassroots racers as bracket and grid champions have yet to be decided. Relatively new participant outshone the regular runners in what proved to be an eventful race day.

Hourly rainshowers moved qualifying time to 10:45 a.m., with the slower brackets trying out their luck with a drying track first.

This gave Perpekto Pakutkut the fastest time for Grid D with a 2:08.084. Joey Howard followed for Grid C, while regular runners Eduardo Suiza and Rafael LaO' capped of the fastest in Grids B and A respectively.

Time Attack Bracket winners benefitted from perfect racing conditions, with special wins earned by Christopher Co, Jermyn Sy and Marc Borja for the 86/BRZ/FRS class, while Christopher Cadiz, Michael Angelo Turing and Mikko Rayo topped the GT class.

Bracket G was sealed by Adrian Agcamaran with an almost perfect time. He was closely followed by Lars Alonzo in second, and newcomer Michael Destura grabbing third.

Bracket F saw Perpekto Pakutkut sealed the deal with his time attack run. Championship leader Robert Tan only mustered 2nd this time, with AR Lanting from Staging Lanes in third.

Newcomer Sherwin Bargos captured first in Bracket E with his Corolla AE101 turbo. Ron Valerio and Raymond De Pano capped off the podium places.

Veteran racer Jeff Borja took Bracket D, followed by Polo Bautista and Paolo Lofamia of W-Autosports in second and third respectively.

Christopher Co topped Bracket C, with JCT Blanche boys Andrew De Asis and Aaron Lao right behind in second and third.

Eduardo Suiza took the win in Bracket B. Lone Team GT Radial driver Antonio Moncupa took second while third place went to another title contender, Sydney Blanche Sarmiento.

Bracket A and R saw Rafael LaO' top the sheets, with Nino Garcia and Carlo Baguisa a couple seconds behind in second and third.

With the threat of rain looming in the horizon, Grid A, D and PMS were combined, followed by the second race with Grids B and C. Don Andaya topped the PMS grid race, with season newbie Allan Ararao getting the Grid D win.

After penalties were handed to top finishers that broke out of their brackets, Lesley Tuazon was pronounced the winner of Grid C, trailed by Paolo Lofamia and Julius Joseph Beredo.

Grid B saw Eduardo Suiza bow out to car trouble and hand the victory to Sydney Blanche Sarmiento. Andrew De Asis and Aaron Lao took second and third.

Grid A found Rafael LaO' cruising to victory. Carlo Baguisa limped to second, while team mate Nino Garcia sputtered to third.

The final leg will be held on Oct. 10 at the Clark International Speedway in Pampanga. Here, 2015 series winners will be named, and the much-coveted Gearhead trophies and other prizes will be awarded.


A pace-car waits to lead a large mixed grid of grassroots racers at the Batangas Racing Circuit.

Though the cars are battling for times, the mixed grid format still allows for wheel-to-wheel action.

COPYRIGHT 2015 Manila Bulletin Publishing Corp.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Motoring
Publication:Manila Bulletin
Geographic Code:9PHIL
Date:Oct 1, 2015
Previous Article:Generation S: Honda unveils three scooters with revolutionary features.
Next Article:Abad faces DAP probe.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters