Printer Friendly

New parliament landscape: committees reconstituted.

BARDO (TAP) - Parliamentary commissions will be reconstituted after the change in the landscape due to the internal rift in Nidaa Tounes and the coming into being of resigning MPs' bloc Al-Horra.

The announcement was made at a meeting Thursday of the House of People's Representatives (HPR) Bureau and group presidents.

Ennahdha, the parliamentary bloc with the highest number of MPs (69) will chair three permanent commissions: the Industry, Energy, Natural Resources, Infrastructure and Environment Commission, the Agriculture and Food Security Commission and the Commission of Internal Rules, Parliamentary Immunity and Parliament and Election Laws.

Nidaa Tounes bloc, with its 58 deputies, will preside over the General Legislation Commission and the Commission of the Organisation of the Administration and Armed Forces Affairs.

Third-ranking Al-Horra (27 MPs) will chair the Rights, Liberties and External Relations Commission, while the Popular Front's deputies at the HPR will have the Health and Social Affairs Commission.

For its part, the Free Patriotic Union will chair the Youth, Culture, Education and Scientific Research Commission.

The presidency of the Finance, Planning and Development Commission is entrusted to the opposition as spelled out in the Constitution. MP Iyad Dahmani from the Social-Democratic Group will take the chairmanship.

Ennahdha group will chair most of the eight special commissions, in line with the principle of relative representativeness, namely the Revolution Martyrs and Wounded, the General Amnesty and Transitional Justice Commission, the Commission of Women, Family, Children, Youth and Elderly Affairs and the Election Commission.

Nidaa Tounes will head the Security and Defence Commission and the Administrative Reform, Good Governance, Fight against Corruption and Control of Public Funds Management Commission.

Al Horra will take the chairmanship of the Tunisian Expatriates Commission, while the Commission of Local Development and that of People with Disabilities and Vulnerable Categories will be headed respectively by the Free Patriotic Union and the Popular Front blocs.

[c] Tap 2016 Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).

COPYRIGHT 2016 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2016 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Agency Tunis Afrique Press
Date:Feb 26, 2016
Previous Article:Prime Ministry stigmatises invasion of its premises by protesters among policemen.
Next Article:Prime Minister meets CEO of Qatar's "Silatech".

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters