Printer Friendly

New editorial board members.

The Editorial Board elected three new members to the 1997 Board, Drs. Ishwarlal Jialal, Thomas W. Prior, and Mitchell G. Scott. Reelected to the Board for second terms were Drs. Daniel W. Chan, Paul J. Orsulak, and Eric J. Sampson.




The future of the Journal depends on the expertise and selfless service of the Editorial Board. We thank these new and returning members for their willingness to provide their counsel as the Journal, like clinical chemists of the 1990s, moves into new areas of research, technology, medicine, and publishing.

Ishwarlal Jialal is Associate Professor of Pathology and Internal Medicine and Director of Clinical Chemistry at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, Texas. He received both his M.D. and Ph.D. from the University of Natal Medical School in South Africa, where he also completed a residency in Chemical Pathology (Clinical Chemistry) from 1979 to 1983. Thereafter, he undertook Fellowship training at Harvard Medical School and was a Senior Fellow at the University of Washington, Seattle. He is certified in Clinical Chemistry (chemical pathology) in South Africa, the UK (MRC Path), and the US (DABCC, F.A.C.B.), and his major research interests are in the areas of atherosclerosis, nutrition, and diagnostic endocrinology.

Dr. Jialal has published 180 original papers, invited reviews, and book chapters. He is also the recipient of several awards, including the Young Investigator Award from the American Heart Association (1989), General Diagnostics Award of the South African Association of Clinical Biochemists (1985), the George Grannis Award of the National Academy of Clinical Biochemists (1994), and the VERIS Research Award (1996). He has been an Associate Editor for the Journal of Lipid Research (1992-1995), is on the Advisory Board of the International Journal of Clinical and Laboratory Research (1995-), and is on the editorial board of the American Journal of Clinical Pathology (1996-). At the local level, he is currently Chair of the Texas Section of the AACC. Nationally, he is a member of the Endocrinology Lab Improvement Program Committee (1995-) and the Delta Group (1995-), and he was Program Chair of the Frontiers in Lipid and Lipoprotein Meeting (1995). In 1995, Dr. Jialal received both a Clinical Chemist Recognition Award and an Outstanding Speaker Award from the AACC.

Mitchell G. Scott is currently Associate Medical Director of Clinical Chemistry at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Clinical Research Assistant Professor in the Division of Laboratory Medicine at Washington University, St. Louis, MO. Before joining Washington University in 1987, he spent 3 years in industry managing hybridoma production. Dr. Scott received his A.B. in biology and his Ph.D in immunology from Washington University and is also a diplomat of the American Board of Clinical Chemistry (ABCC). He was a postdoctoral fellow in clinical chemistry at Washington University during which he studied the mechanism of restricted IgG isotype expression to carbohydrate antigens.

A member of AACC since 1982, Dr. Scott has served AACC in several capacities, including the Membership Committee, and Chair, Task Force on Training Clinical Chemists, Professional and Membership Affairs Commission; he is currently a member of the Oak Ridge Conference Committee and the Task Force on Governance. He is a commissioner of the Commission on Accreditation in Clinical Chemistry and a director of the ABCC. He has served the Midwest Section of AACC as Secretary and Chair. Dr. Scott is also a member of the American Association of Immunologists, the Clinical Immunology Society, and the Academy of Clinical Laboratory Physicians and Scientists.

Co-director of the clinical chemistry postdoctoral training program at Washington University, Dr. Scott has helped train 22 fellows and 30 residents in clinical chemistry. His research has focused on antibody variable-region gene expression; in particular, he determined the human variable-region genes expressed in response to Haemophilus influenzae capsular polysaccharide. His clinical research is focused on the utility and interpretation of a variety of clinical chemical tests. With many collaborators, he has authored 55 original scientific papers, 19 reviews or textbook chapters, and 49 abstracts.

Thomas W. Prior is an Associate Professor of Pathology and Neurology at The Ohio State University. He received his Ph.D. in 1988 from the Medical College of Virginia, under the mentorship of Hanns-Dieter Gruemer, and while there developed his interest in molecular genetics. Dr. Prior's research involved the utilization of DNA probes in Duchenne muscular dystrophy. He then joined the staff at the University of North Carolina as a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Laboratory Medicine, where he further pursued molecular biology work with Lawrence Silverman. In 1990 Dr. Prior became a faculty member at The Ohio State University, and is currently directing the Division of Molecular Pathology.

Dr. Prior's research interests have primarily focused on clinical molecular genetics. Many of his publications have dealt specifically with the molecular basis of neuromuscular diseases, including Duchenne muscular dystrophy, spinal muscular atrophy, and myotonic dystrophy. He has been most active in identifying new gene mutations and determining their effects on protein structure and function.

Dr. Prior has also helped many of the molecular methods, which at one time were performed only in specialized research laboratories, make the transition into the clinical laboratories. He has developed several protocols for genetic disease testing and has been active in implementing quality assurance for recombinant techniques.

Dr. Prior is certified by the American Board of Medical Genetics, with a subspecialty in Clinical Molecular Genetics. He has been a member of the AACC since 1982. In 1990 he received the AACC Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievements by a Young Investigator. Dr. Prior has been active in education and has given many AACC workshops and lectures. He enjoys teaching medical residents, graduate students, and medical technologists as they spend time in the Molecular Pathology Laboratory.

Compiled by David E. Bruns, Editor
COPYRIGHT 1997 American Association for Clinical Chemistry, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1997 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:The Clinical Chemist
Author:Bruns, David E.
Publication:Clinical Chemistry
Date:Jan 1, 1997
Previous Article:Searching Clinical Chemistry on the Web.
Next Article:AACC audioconferences.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters