Printer Friendly

New directors elected to NBER Board.

The NBER's Board of Directors has elected two new members:

Edward Foster is a Professor of Economics (Emeritus) and past department chair (2000-6) at the University of Minnesota, which he represents on the NBER Board. He received his Ph.D. from MIT in 1961 and joined the Minnesota faculty that year. In addition to teaching, he has served as Associate and Acting Dean of the School of Management, and as the University's Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs. An expert on public finance and cost-benefit analysis, with a particular focus on health and safety issues, Foster currently serves on the Minnesota Council of Economic Advisers. He is also a past president of the National Association of Forensic Economics.

Peter L. Rousseau is Professor of Economics, and Professor of History, at Vanderbilt University. He is also the Secretary-Treasurer of the American Economic Association, which he represents on the NBER Board. An expert on macroeconomics and economic history, Rousseau is particularly interested in monetary history, and in how financial markets assist in spreading transformative technological change through an economy. His research focuses on the role of financial markets and institutions in economic growth and development.

In addition, John Siegfried and Craig Swan were elected to the rank of Director Emeritus.
COPYRIGHT 2012 National Bureau of Economic Research, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:NBER News
Publication:NBER Reporter
Date:Dec 22, 2012
Previous Article:NBER researcher wins Nobel Prize in economics.
Next Article:NBER researchers entering public service in 2012.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters