Printer Friendly

New coalition to contest elections.

Dubai: AaA coalition of 10 registered South African political parties has been formed to contest the 2009 general elections. The coalition nominated 200 candidates with the Electoral Commission for the National Assembly.

The parties are Afrika Borwa Kgutlisa Botho, Ahanang People's Organisation, AParty, Azanian Native Socialist Congress, Conservative Party, Dabalorivhuwa Patriotic Front, Freedom Power, Khoisan United Front, United Citizen Forum of South Africa and Workers International Vanguard.

The bloc, known as The AParty Coalition, will contest the election under the AParty banner with Anthony Penderis acting as chairperson until the party's first National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting after the elections.

The coalition's Constitution as published on its website ( will be the guidelines for coalition members until amended by the NEC, which will be elected after the general elections.

The primary aims and objectives of the The AParty Coalition as contained in their constitution include: To uphold and improve the South African Constitution and promote the ideals of a modern democracy and free society, where all people can live together in harmony and with equal opportunities.

Al Nisr Publishing LLC 2009. All rights reserved.

Provided by an company
COPYRIGHT 2009 Al Bawaba (Middle East) Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2009 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Gulf News (United Arab Emirates)
Date:Mar 7, 2009
Previous Article:Former All Blacks star seeks to spur Canada to glory.
Next Article:The March bogey.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters