Printer Friendly

New Certification Commissioners.

MTNA Certification is pleased to welcome three new members to the National Certification Commission:

Cheryl Rytting, NCTM, (Southwest Division), received a bachelor of music degree in musicology from the University of Utah. She is certified in piano and organ and teaches in her home studio. Rytting has been an active member of Utah MTA for many years and has served as president of the Jordan River chapter. She is currently serving as Utah's State MTNA certification chair.

Jo Plunkett, NCTM, (Southern Division), is a Florida State Certified Teacher of Music with 40 years of experience. She teaches in her home studio in Orange Park, Florida. Plunkett studied voice and piano and holds a bachelor of music degree from the University of Georgia. She is past president of JMTA, past vice president of student activities of FSMTA, past certification chair of FSMTA and the current vice president of local and district associations of FSMTA.

Jennifer Im Cohen, NCTM, (East Central Division), holds a bachelor of music degree from Oberlin Conservatory and a master of music degree in piano performance and pedagogy from Northwestern University. She was a professor of piano in the keyboard skills program at DePaul University, where she served as the program coordinator. Cohen maintains a large home piano studio, is active in ISMTA, is president of North Shore MTA and serves as certification chair of Northwest MTA. Cohen was chosen as the 2005 North Shore MTA Member of the Year.

Susan Todd, NCTM, (Northwest Division), is an independent music teacher in Hillsboro, Oregon, and has been teaching private and group piano for more than 30 years. She earned a bachelor of music degree in piano performance with a teaching emphasis at Wichita State University in Kansas, and has taken further training at Kansas State and Portland State Universities. Active in Oregon Music Teachers Association for the past 15 years, she has served as Portland district president, local certification chair, Festival of Ribbons chair, state conference chair and is currently the state president. She organizes recitals and musical events in Hillsboro and Portland, and performs regularly at Calvary Lutheran Church, Hillsboro High School and with the piano eight-hand group, "Too Grand."

The National Certification Commission also welcomes Kenneth Christensen, NCTM, as chair designate for 2010-2011. Christensen holds a bachelor of music degree from Montana State University and a master of music degree from the University of Montana. While on the faculty at the Montana State University School of Music, he received the prestigious "Award in Excellence in Teaching." He is active as an independent piano teacher and is in demand as a clinician, adjudicator and presenter. Christensen has appeared as a soloist and collaborative artist throughout Montana, the Pacific Northwest and southern California. He has actively served in MTNA leadership positions at the local and state level as secretary and treasurer, president-elect and president for the Montana State MTA. He was the MTNA Northwest Division President from 2004-2006 and on the MTNA Board of Directors from 2006-2008, as well as past chair of the Collaborative Performance Forum and chair of the 2009 Conference Planning Committee.

COPYRIGHT 2010 Music Teachers National Association, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2010 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:National Association News
Publication:American Music Teacher
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Apr 1, 2010
Previous Article:Equal opportunity coaching: tips for coaching vocal and instrumental collaborations with pianists.
Next Article:StAR Award program.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters