Printer Friendly

Neighbor to Neighbor.

Matthew Mudgett, of Lancaster, recently returned from the Legion Post 96-sponsored American Legion Boys State, according to Henry Richter, commander of Post 96.

Boys State is a program teaching young men about the operation of democracy. The week-long program is at Stonehill College, in Easton.

Among the accomplishments Mudgett achieved while at Boys State were passing a bar exam and being appointed a judge for a mock trial. Also while attending Boys State, Mudgett was nominated, from among a group of 200 boys, to run for lieutenant governor. Other activities he participated in were public speaking, debating, journalism and confidence building, as well as management and operation of local, county and state government.

The Boys State Program has been operated by the American Legion for more than 70 years.

Mudgett is an honors student at Nashoba Regional High School. He is a quarterback on the football team and participates on the track team.

He is the son of Stephen and Julie Mudgett.

Stephanie D'Ambrosio, of Lancaster, was named to the Spring 2013 dean's list at Hofstra University. D'Ambrosio, a member of the Class of 2014, is majoring in global studies and political science.

The following local students were named to Worcester Academy's trimester three honor roll and headmaster's list:

Berlin: Brandon Casamassima and Matthew Dallas, honor roll;

Bolton: Emma Donnelly and Varun Nair, headmaster's list, Connor Gleason and Vanessa Jones, honor roll;

Lancaster: Katya Noel, honor roll;

Sterling: Ryan Bernier and Caitlin McNamara, honor roll.

Recent graduates of Worcester Academy were: Dominic Casamassima, of Berlin, Aidan Fly and Connor E. Gleason, of Bolton and Joseph P. Finn, of Sterling.

Madeline Darden, of Bolton, graduated with a bachelor's degree in physician assistance from Rochester Institute of Technology's College of Health Sciences and Technology in the spring.

The following local residents were named to University of Rhode Island's spring semester dean's list: Julia Christian Coache, of Berlin, Carissa MacKenzie Chase, Elizabeth Swain and Patricia Sargent, Clinton, and Elise Williamson, of Sterling.

The following local residents were named to Assumption College's dean's list:

Berlin: Caitlin Keefe, a senior;

Bolton: Nichole Spilios, a junior;

Clinton: Gianna Moscillo, a freshman;

Sterling: Lauren Brown, a junior, Marjorie Gold, a junior, Rebecca Holmes, a senior, Caitlin Miller, a sophomore and Samantha Powers, a junior.

Erica Bowe, of Bolton, earned her Girl Scout Silver Award. For students at the Florence Sawyer Middle School in Bolton, indoor recess during the winter had few options. Bowe came up with the idea of making games and holding a donation drive to collect games for the classrooms. She was honored at the Girl Scouts of Central and Western Massachusetts Gold and Silver Ceremony held on Sunday, June 9, at Mechanics Hall in Worcester.

Andria G. Cubero and Jacob R. Pelland, of Bolton and Abigail R. Sushchyk, of Sterling, were named to University of Vermont's spring semester dean's list. Cubero, a junior, majors in anthropology. Pelland, a sophomore, majors in Russian. Sushchyk, a senior, majors in psychology.

Nicholas Day, of Sterling, graduated from Paul Smith's College in May. Day earned a bachelor's degree in forestry. Day also earned an associate's degree in arboriculture and landscape management.

Two Sterling residents recently graduated from Ithaca College:

Adrienne Cocci graduated from Ithaca College's School of Health Sciences and Human Performance with a major in health sciences; and Nathanial Lawrence graduated from Ithaca College's Roy H. Park School of Communications with a major in cinema and photography.

Two local residents were named to the spring dean's list at Ithaca:

Adrienne Cocci, a resident of Sterling and a health sciences major in the Class of 2013, was named to dean's list in School of Health Sciences and Human Performance; and Gwen Fernau, a resident of Clinton and a communication, management and design major in the Class of 2014, was named to dean's list in Roy H. Park School of Communications.

Several local students received diplomas at the recent UMass-Lowell's graduation:

Berlin: Marc Aijala;

Bolton: Zachary Simmons, Alan Levin III, Andrew Staszewski and Mark Melone;

Clinton: Erin Sullivan, Timothy Burke, Alexander Kehn, Angela Braaten, Hugo Ortega, Timothy Hansen, Julio Navas, Daniel DeAngelis, Joseph Vosburg, Hayley Armstrong and Patricia DeOliveira;

Sterling: Christopher Adoretti and Rachel Fritschy.

Timothy Hansen, a resident of Clinton and member of UMass Lowell's Class of 2013, was recognized as a Commonwealth Honors Program Scholar at the university's Commencement on May 18. Hansen, who majored in philosophy, is one of 34 students awarded the prestigious title this year.

The following local students were named to University of Massachusetts Amherst spring dean's list:

Berlin: Andrew Tataronis and Jennifer DePlanche;

Bolton: Kyle Croteau, Maddison Dyment, Christiana Minardi, Nicole Juul-Hindsgaul, Fabien Ahmed, Michael Dandley, Lauren Casaceli, Jake Reed, Christopher Comas, Nicole Kovacs, Brittany Ringler, Courtney Tolliday, Lauren Bahn, Christopher Rucinski and Samuel Michaud;

Clinton: Michael Bradley, Entricus Nyaigoti, Shayne O'Malley, Ashley Hatstat, Erin O'Malley, Garrett Burns and Marisa Navas;

Lancaster: Walker Babich, Andrew Gradeski, Patrick Rodgers, Jane Kirkpatrick, Joseph O'Loughlin, Marc MacLeod, Ardrianna Howard, Alison Crooker, Alexander Schryver, Robert Green, Amber Sullivan, Matthew Dibara, Christos Mpelkas, Jair Cruikshank, Rebecca Humphrey, Shelby Ripa, Michael Root and Anna Klouda;

Sterling: Leilana LaFleur, Shane Michniewicz, Hannah Rotti, Megan O'Connor, Ryan Leger, Adam Boudreau, Anthony Damiano, Carlanne Raber, Jeffrey Boutotte, Eric Gagnon and Shaina Lemmon.

Ryan Ordung, of Lancaster, was named to the Virginia Tech dean's list for the spring semester. Ordung is a junior majoring in geosciences in the College of Science.


CUTLINE: Silver Award Recipient Erica Bowe (center), of Bolton, with Girl Scouts of Central and Western Massachusetts Board President Allison Lane (left) and CEO Pat Hallberg.
COPYRIGHT 2013 Worcester Telegram & Gazette
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2013 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Telegram & Gazette (Worcester, MA)
Geographic Code:4EUGE
Date:Jul 26, 2013
Previous Article:Friendly argument over unfriendly sports.
Next Article:Clinton starts tournament with a close game.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters