Printer Friendly

National Patient Safety Foundation Announces New Board Officers.

NORTH ADAMS, Mass., June 19 /PRNewswire/ -- The National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF) today announced the appointment of three officers to the Foundation's Board of Directors, including new chair Pamela Thompson, MS, RN, FAAN, vice chair Gary Kaplan, MD, FACP, FACMPE, FACPE, and secretary Charles Benda, PhD, CPCU, ARM. The Board of Directors provides strategic and operational oversight and is vested with the Foundation's fiduciary responsibilities.


Continuing as treasurer is William Jessee, MD, FACMPE, and transitioning to the position of immediate past chair is Paul Gluck, MD.

Diane C. Pinakiewicz, NPSF President, said: "We're delighted with the appointment of Pam, Gary, and Chuck to officer roles on the NPSF Board. Their deep professional experiences and passionate commitment to patient safety bring valuable perspectives to our Board. We're grateful for their staunch support and look forward to their contributions in these new roles, as well as the continued leadership of Bill Jessee, Paul Gluck, and all of our distinguished Board members."

Pamela Thompson, Chair

Pamela Thompson, MS, RN, FAAN, now serves as the chair of the NPSF Board of Directors, and has been an NPSF board member since 2002. She is the CEO of the American Organization of Nurse Executives (AONE), responsible for its overall administrative operations. AONE represents over 6,000 nurses in executive practice, with offices in Washington, DC, and Chicago, Illinois. AONE is a subsidiary of the American Hospital Association. Prior to joining AONE in 2000, Ms. Thompson was Vice President for the Children's Hospital, Obstetrics, Psychiatric Services, and Strategic Planning at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center in Lebanon, New Hampshire. She has long been involved in state and national association work and served as president of the New Hampshire Organization of Nurse Executives, Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the New Hampshire Hospital Association, and was a Board member of AONE.

Gary Kaplan, Vice Chair

Gary S. Kaplan, MD, FACP, FACMPE, FACPE, is the newly appointed vice chair for the Foundation's Board of Directors, and has been an NPSF board member since 1997. Dr. Kaplan has served as Chairman and CEO of the Virginia Mason Health System since 2000. He received his medical degree from the University of Michigan and is board-certified in internal medicine.

Under Dr. Kaplan's leadership, Virginia Mason has received significant national and international recognition, including the HealthGrades' "Distinguished Hospital Award for Clinical Excellence" for the past three years. Virginia Mason is a leader in deploying the Toyota Production system to healthcare management improving quality, safety, and efficiency.

In addition to his patient duties and position as CEO, Dr. Kaplan is a clinical professor at the University of Washington and has been recognized for his service and contribution to many regional and national boards.

Charles Benda, Secretary

Charles Benda, PhD, CPCU, ARM, now serves as the Board's new secretary, and has been an NPSF board member since 2004. He is the Senior Vice President and COO of AIG Consultants(R), responsible for the management and ongoing development of healthcare consulting services in the areas of risk management, quality management, and workers' compensation. Dr. Benda joined AIG Consultants in 1991, and has held a number of management positions in the healthcare industry over the past 25 years. At a private foundation, he was responsible for the development and implementation of clinical treatment protocols. Within the New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation, he directed planning and clinical information support for 11 acute care hospitals and five long-term care facilities. He also served as Senior Manager in the northeast healthcare consulting practice of Ernst & Young. Dr. Benda holds a Bachelor of Arts from Purdue University, and a Master of Arts and a Doctorate of Philosophy from Harvard University. He also has the CPCU and the ARM designations from the Insurance Institute of America.
 NPSF Board Reappointments
 Dennis O'Leary, MD, is president emeritus of the Joint Commission.

David Page, MHA, was formerly the Chief Executive Officer of Fairview Health Services.

Gary S. Kaplan, MD, FACP, FACMPE, FACPE, as announced, has been elevated to NPSF Board vice chair.

Additional NPSF Board Appointments; Three-Year Terms

Jennifer Daley, MD, FACP, is the Chief Medical Officer of Partners Community Healthcare Inc.

Doug Bonacum, MBA, BS, is Vice President, Safety Management for Kaiser Permanente.

Gerald Hickson, MD, is Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, Director of the Vanderbilt Center for Patient and Professional Advocacy, Professor of Pediatrics, and Associate Professor of Family and Health Systems Nursing at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine.


The National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF) is an independent nonprofit organization dedicated to improving patient safety and reducing medical errors through research, education and dissemination of programs. It is an unprecedented partnership of stakeholders working together to raise awareness and improve the safety of the health care system. The NPSF was founded in 1997 by the American Medical Association, CNA HealthPro, and 3M, with significant support from the Schering-Plough Corporation. For more information, visit

CONTACT: Bernadette Lupo, Communications Director of NPSF, +1-413-663-2018,

Web site:
COPYRIGHT 2008 PR Newswire Association LLC
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2008 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:PR Newswire
Date:Jun 19, 2008
Previous Article:Maternity Redefined: Introducing A Pea in the Pod(R) Fall 2008 Collection.
Next Article:Miller Petroleum Partners with Atlas America for Gas Exploration and Drilling.

Related Articles
Creation of the 'Lucian Leape Institute' Announced at Annual Patient Safety Congress.
Lucian Leape Institute Announces First Roundtable.
Lucian Leape Institute First Roundtable: A Resounding Success.
Cardinal Health Awards $1 Million to Fund Patient Safety Initiatives.
The Lucian Leape Institute at the National Patient Safety Foundation Announces the Appointment of Two New Members.
Lucian Leape Institute Thought Leaders Define Strategies for Patient Safety.
AmerisourceBergen Joins National Patient Safety Foundation Corporate Council.
Patient Safety in Challenging Economic Times is Focus of NPSF Annual Congress on May 20-22.
NPSF Issues New Universal Patient Compact During Patient Safety Awareness Week.
Baxa Corporation Launches 'Culture of Safety' Campaign to Recognize National Patient Safety Awareness Week.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters