Printer Friendly

National Engineers Week 2004 Asian American Engineer of the Year Award Banquet CIE/USA.

News Editors

SAN JOSE, Calif.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Feb. 20, 2004

Chinese Institute of Engineers, USA (CIE/USA) is co-sponsoring the National Engineers Week 2004 and will host an annual Asian American Engineer of Year Award Banquet on Saturday, February 28, 2004 at the Marriott Hotel Santa Clara. The primary goal of this award is to recognize outstanding Asian American engineers for their contributions to our nation and communities.

Two prominent honors will be presented to Asian American engineers with distinguished achievements. This year's Lifetime Achievement Award recipient is Yuan-Cheng Fung, professor emeritus of Bioengineering at University of California, San Diego, fondly known as the "father of biomechanics". Fung initiated a new direction for bioengineering and coined the term "tissue engineering" in the 1980's.

The Distinguished Science and Technology Award recipient this year is Steven Chu, 1997 Nobel Laureate in Physics and professor at Stanford University. Chu and his research group are currently focusing on applying single molecule techniques such as fluorescence resonance energy transfer, atomic force microscopy, and optical tweezers. Their study includes enzyme activity, and RNA folding at the single bio-molecule level. Many lives can be affected and benefited through Chu's research endeavors.

The finalists for Asian American Engineer of the Year are: Shreekant Agrawal (Boeing), Ravi Arimilli (IBM), Li- Fung Chang (Broadcom), Er-Ping Chen (Sandia Lab.), Tze-Yao Chu (Sandia Lab.), Lawrence Y. Dong (Boeing), Wu-Chun Feng (Los Alamos Lab.), S.K. Gupta (Lockheed Martin), William Lin (General Motors), Viet H. Nguyen (Boeing), Heidi Shyu (Raytheon), Man-Chung Tang (T.Y. Lin International), Tuchih Tsai (Cisco Systems) and Y.C. Yang (T.Y. Lin & Y.C. Yang International). Among them are internationally known high-rise building expert, world class segmental bridge consultant, lead nuclear weapon specialist, chief supercomputer architect, pioneer in vehicle ABS/TCS control systems, manager of space shuttle entry flight control system, lead of unmanned combat air vehicle and combat armed rotorcraft, and expert of sonic cruiser configuration. One has been awarded 267 patents in his 20 years in industry in a company of 297,000 employees. At the award banquet, each recipient will receive the honor in the presence of executives of his or her sponsoring company.
COPYRIGHT 2004 Business Wire
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2004, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Business Wire
Date:Feb 20, 2004
Previous Article:Evergreen Investments Appoints Dana Erikson New Leader of High Yield Team.
Next Article:Global Diversified Acquisition Corp. Announces Execution of Definitive Agreement to Acquire MK Secure Solutions Ltd.

Related Articles
Best of NAMA.
Omkaram Nalamasu named recipient of 2004 Roy W. Tess Award.
Bright spark.
CastExpo '05 schedule.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters