Printer Friendly

Names in the News.

*Edward Otto, PhD, has been named director of the Office of Cellular, Tissue and Gene Therapies in the Food and Drug Administration's Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research. Since 2002, Otto was chief operating officer of Intronn, Inc., Gaithersburg, MD.

*Sue Dunn has been named president and CEO of Donor Alliance, Denver, CO. Dunn had been Donor Alliance' vice president of organ procurement.

*Scott Bottenfield has been named director of Tissue Services Partner Relations at the LifeCell Corporation, Blanchburg, NJ. Previously, Bottenfield was vice president of Tissue Development at LifeNet, in Virginia Beach, VA.

*Charles Alexander has been named chief executive officer of the Transplant Resource Center (TRC) of Maryland in Baltimore. Alexander had been TRC's director of Hospital Development and Clinical Services.

*Pat Niles, RN, has been named executive director of New Mexico Donor Services in Albuquerque. Niles replaced Laurie Garretson who??? Previously, Niles was director of Organ Recovery Services at the Nevada Donor Network in Las Vegas.

*Carlo Gerardo B. Ramirez, MD, has joined the Department of Surgery as a transplant surgeon at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, Philadelphia, PA. Ramirez came to Jefferson after serving as chairman of the Department of Organ Transplantation at the National Kidney and Transplant Institute in the Philippines.

*The Transplantation Society announced the recipients of its prestigious Peter Medawar Prize at its XX International Congress in Vienna, Austria in early September. They include: John Najarian, MD, clinical professor of transplant surgery, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN; Paul S. Russell, MD, John Homans distinguished professor of surgery, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston; and Richard L. Simmons, MD, distinguished service professor of surgery, chairman emeritus, department of surgery, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Pittsburgh, PA. The Medawar Prize is named for Society co-founder Sir Peter Medawar, who received the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1960 for his landmark studies on actively acquired tolerance to transplanted tissue. It is recognized as the world's highest dedicated award for the most outstanding contributions in the field of transplantation.

*The American Society of Nephrology announced the recipients of the 2004 Belding H. Scribner Award at its 37th Annual Meeting and Scientific Exposition in St. Louis. Philip Held, PhD, Fredrich Port, MD, and Robert Wolfe, PhD, were honored for their creation of the US Renal Data System, the Dialysis Outcomes and Practice Patterns Study, and the Scientific Registry of Transplant Recipients (SRTR). Held is currently a senior researcher at the University Renal Research and Education Association and an adjunct professor of Internal Medicine at the University of Michigan. Port is currently professor emeritus of Medicine and Epidemiology at the University of Michigan. Wolfe is co-director of the SRTR, director of production of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)-funded Dialysis Facility Reports, and principal investigator of the CMS' Prospective Payment System Study.

*The Eye Bank Association of America (EBAA) has announced the recipients of two of its major awards. The Paton Society selected R. Doyle Stulting, MD, PhD, to receive its 2005 R. Townley Paton Award. Stulting is co-Medical Director at the Georgia Eye Bank in Atlanta, and currently editor-in-chief of the journal Cornea. The Heise Committee selected Barbara Crow, CEBT, to receive the 2005 Heise Award. Crow is executive director of the Lions Eye Bank of Oregon in Portland.

*The American Association of Tissue Banks has announced its Board of Governors for 2004-05. They include: President - Duke Kasprisin, MD, American Red Cross Tissue Services, Burlington, VT; President-Elect - James Forsell, PhD, Tissue Banks International, San Rafael, CA; Secretary - Margery Moogk, Northwest Tissue Center, Seattle, WA; Treasurer - Michael Jeffries, Osteotech, Inc., Eatontown, NJ; Council of Accredited Member Tissue Bank - Joel Osborne, Musculoskeletal Transplant Foundation, Edison, NJ, and Thomas Cycyota, AlloSource, Englewood, CO; Tissue Bank - John Lee, DCI Donor Services, Nashville, TN; Reproductive - Charles Sims, MD, California CryoBank, Inc., Los Angeles; Skin - Kenneth Blair, RN, Community Tissue Services, Dayton, OH; Musculoskeletal - Simon Bogdansky, PhD, AlloSource, Englewood, CO; Members at Large - Bud Brame, LifeNet, Virginia Beach, VA, and Francis Hornicek, MD, PhD, MGH Bone Bank, Boston, MA; and Past President - Samuel Doppelt, MD, Cambridge Hospital, Cambridge, MA.

In Memoriam - Michael Friedlander, MD, a nephrologist at Hadassah University Hospital in Jerusalem, Israel, passed away in late August. The cause of death was a heart attack.
COPYRIGHT 2004 Transplant Communications, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2004 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Transplant News
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Nov 16, 2004
Previous Article:Islet cell transplantation conference to be held December 1-2 in Philadelphia.
Next Article:Amgen trial will evaluate impact of treating anemia on cardiovascular risks in patients with CKD, type 2 diabetes.

Related Articles
Lining up a legal dream team.
Names in the News.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters