Printer Friendly

NSPA Scholarships awarded to outstanding students.

NSPA Scholarships Awarded to Outstanding Students

Twenty-six college accounting students have been awarded scholarships by the National Society of Public Accountants Scholarship Foundation. The NSPA Scholarship Foundation board of trustees awarded eight scholarships in the amount of $500 to students entering their second year of study and 18 scholarships in the amount of $1,000 to students entering their third or fourth year of study.

In announcing the 1991-92 winners, Leslie S. Shapiro, chairman of the Scholarship Foundation board of trustees, stated, "A significant increase in the costs of education for today's students is evidenced by the record number of applications received by the foundation this year. The NSPA Scholarship Foundation is extremely pleased and proud that through financial encouragement we are able to directly assist outstanding accounting students on a nationwide basis."

More than 1,500 students submitted applications to the foundation for the 1991-1992 academic year. Applicants were evaluated for scholastic achievement, demonstrated leadership ability and financial need.

Casey Mitchell of Hurst, Texas, was selected as the most outstanding student in the competition, earning special designation as the Charles H. Earp Memorial Scholar. Mitchell will receive an additional $300 and a plaque in recognition of his selection.

The board of trustees also selected Samuel Cooper of Powell, Tennessee, as the 1991-1992 recipient of the Stanley H. Stearman Scholarship. This award was established in 1987 in recognition of the 25 years of dedicated service of NSPA's executive vice president, Stanley H. Stearman. A candidate for the Stearman scholarship must be a college student majoring in accounting and the child, grandchild, niece or nephew of an NSPA member or deceased member. Cooper is the son of NSPA member Daniel Cooper. Based on his outstanding academic achievements and demonstrated leadership ability, Samuel Cooper will receive a $2,000 scholarship annually for three years while pursuing his accounting studies. Cooper is a student at the University of Tennessee.

The scholarship fund is the result of many generous contributions from individual members of NSPA and organizations. Several of the scholarships are awarded in the honor or memory of these benefactors.

The NSPA Scholarship Foundation was formed in 1969 by the National Society's Board of Governors to encourage and assist high caliber individuals to select public accounting as a career. In the past 20 years over 500 scholarships have been awarded. The Foundation receives the majority of its funds through individual contributions from the members of the National Society of Public Accountants and from affiliated state organizations. Contributions may be addressed to the NSPA Scholarship Foundation, 1010 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, Virginia 22314-1574.

NSPA is a national professional society dedicated to maintaining high standards of proficiency among its members. NSPA has over 24,000 practicing accountant members who provide accounting, tax preparation, tax planning, financial planning and managerial advisory services to more than four million individuals and small businesses. Each member maintains a strict adherence to the National Society of Public Accountants' rigid code of ethics and high technical standards of performance.

The students receiving scholarships for the 1991-1992 academic year are:
COPYRIGHT 1991 National Society of Public Accountants
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1991 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:National Society of Public Accountants Scholarship Foundation
Publication:The National Public Accountant
Date:Sep 1, 1991
Previous Article:Withholding tax: whose liability is it?
Next Article:Advising clients on municipal bonds.

Related Articles
NSPA's national legislative policy - a five 'E' program.
SROC - accomplishments of the '80s, goals of the '90s.
NSPA's 1992 legislative strategy conferences.
Creating a new class of licensed accountant.
Testimony: Ralph C. McBride before the Puerto Rico legislative committee.
40 students receive accounting scholarships from National Society of Accountants Scholarship Foundation.
43 students receive accounting scholarships from National Society of Public Accountants Scholarship Foundation.
43 students receive accounting scholarship from National Society of Public Accountants Scholarship Foundation.
43 Students Receive First NSA Scholarships of the New Millennium.
42 Students Receive Scholarships from National Society of Accountants Scholarship Foundation.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters