Printer Friendly

NPPF elects working committee at 4th general convention.

The guests who attended Nepalese Peoples' Progressive Front's 4th general convention.

By Usha Wagle Gautam

The fourth general convention of Nepalese Peoples' Progressive Front (NPPF) was held on the weekend in the presence of former deputy prime minister and foreign minister of Nepal, Narayan Kaji Shrestha.

The convention was inaugurated by charge de affairs at Nepalese Embassy, Mani Ratna Sharma. Foreign secretary of United Communist Party of Nepal-Maoist (UCPN-M) Youbraj Chaulagain was also present at the programme. NPPF is a sister organisation of UCPN-M, the third largest political party of the country.

The inauguration programme was hosted by Ramesh Bhatta. Representatives of various community organisations attended the event.

Former DPM and UCPN-M vice-president Narayan Kaji Shrestha requested for Nepalese community to unite and to lobby for better conditions for labourers. "In the current situation, we can't stop labour migration," Shrestha said. "In order to do so we have to become financially independent."

He also talked about the strong relationship between Nepal and Qatar, and urged all the Nepalese to abide by the rules and regulations of Qatar. UCPN-M foreign secretary Chaulagain said his party believes in the rights of women, labourers, indigenous and ethnic communities.

Poet Tirtha Sangam Rai recited some of his work, and Ishwar Shahi read some of his latest ghazals.

The NPPF also elected a new 25-member working committee led by chairperson Sunny Kumar Oli. Rakam Dwoj Rai was elected as the first vice-chairperson; Karna Limbu as second vice-chairperson; Dip Kala Lamichhane as third vice-chairperson; Jbi Rai as general secretary; Santosh Dagal and Mahesh Dahal as secretary; Buddhi Prasad Bhandari as treasurer; Laxman Kadel as co-treasurer; and Lilamani Basti, Surendar Karki, Laxman Chaulagain, Priti Ghale, Gyan Banadur Neupane, Bimal Neupane, Ghan Bhadur Tamang, Lok Bahadur Pariyar, Dhan Bahadur Sahakari, Birkha Sarki, Iswor Shai, Om Prakash, Bagbat Lila, Balba Lamsal, Bipana Oli, Rashim Tamang, Prakash Bhatta, Prem Rokha, Biknesh Paswon, Ashish Dakal, and Prakash Bhatta as the new members.

Homnath Sharma, Ramesh Bhatta, Pream Kumar BK, Prem Lama, Raju Dumre, Tikaram Bhandari and Depandara Dhakal were elected as the advisers of the Nepalese Peoples' Progressive Front.

[c] Gulf Times Newspaper 2016 Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).

COPYRIGHT 2016 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2016 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Gulf Times (Doha, Qatar)
Date:Apr 19, 2016
Previous Article:Nakilat profit surges 8% to QR240mn in Q1.
Next Article:QIC gross premiums jump 41% to QR2.7bn in Q1; profit up 7% to QR329mn.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |