Printer Friendly

NLC recognizes cities and towns.

NLC recognizes the successes of its members through various programs and appreciation events. Two of these, the Awards for Municipal Excellence and the Milestone Awards, recognize both city accomplishments and individuals' contributions to the community.

The Awards for Municipal Excellence is celebrating its 20th year in recognizing cities and towns that have developed outstanding programs that improve the quality of life in America's communities. An esteemed panel of judges, representing outside organizations and former local officials, selects eight of the most innovative programs as winners. The winning cities are nationally acknowledged and celebrated during NLC's Congress of Cities and Exposition. To learn more about the nomination process and to gain insight into past award winning programs that can inspire your community, visit NLC's website at for cities/awardsrecogntion.aspx

The Milestone Awards recognize cities for their continuous membership, commitment and support to NLC. Members are acknowledged with a certificate in five-year increments and honored and presented with a plaque on their 50th anniversary at a special ceremony during NLC's Congress of Cities.

The announcement and celebration of the 2009 award recipients will take place on Friday, November 13 in San Antonio at the Congress of Cities and Exposition. For more information, contact Member Services at or (202) 626-3100.

2009 Milestone Awardees

NLC proudly congratulates this year's winners, which include:

Albuquerque, N.M., Martin Chavez, mayor

East Point, Ga., Joseph L. Macon, mayor

Fayetteville, N.C., Anthony G. Chavonne, mayor

Forth Worth, Texas, Mike Moncrief, mayor

Gadsden, Ala., Sherman Guyton, mayor

Junction City, Kan., Terry Heldstab, mayor

Newport News, Va., Joe S. Frank, mayor

North Las Vegas, Nev., Shari L. Buck, mayor

Oak Ridge, Tenn., Tom Beehan, mayor

Rockford, Ill., Lawrence J. Morrissey, mayor

Waco, Texas, Virginia DuPuy, mayor

West Allis, Wis., Dan Devine, mayor
COPYRIGHT 2009 National League of Cities
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2009 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:National League of Cities; Awards for Municipal Excellence and the Milestone Awards
Author:Remy, Gail
Publication:Nation's Cities Weekly
Article Type:Awards list
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Oct 26, 2009
Previous Article:Industrial graveyard to hot innovation center.
Next Article:Countercyclical fiscal program, an idea whose time hasn't yet come.

Related Articles
NLC, CH2M HILL unveil new name for award.
One NLC award winner inspires another project.
City showcase to feature exhibits, best practices.
Hunt named city leader of the year.
57 programs named awards for Municipal Excellence finalists.
Excellence awards honor municipal collaborations.
Awards for Municipal Excellence thanks cities for 20 years of innovative programs.
Awards for Municipal Excellence celebrates its 20th anniversary: past awards for Municipal Excellence winning projects continue to go strong.
34 cities selected as finalists for the 2009 Awards for Municipal Excellence.
City programs honored during excellence awards' 20th anniversary.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters